Cherry Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Is there a certain technique I'm missing out on regarding shortbread cookies? As another reviewer states back in 2000 these ran all over my baking sheet as well. They're flatter than a pancake and I'm disappointed. I don't recommend using this recipe if you're not sure what you're doing. Try a recipe with more in depth instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Soooooo delicious and light! I used the full 1 cup of butter and these cookies came out great! I do recommend using 3/4 cup of cherries, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I can't say I've made too many shortbread cookies but these were melt in your mouth amazing. Thank you for the tip to only use 3/4 cup butter, I dare say that you might be able to get away with only 1/2 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I thought this were incredible! I actually did not have corn starch so I thought I was doomed for the beginning but was wrong! They ended up in being great!!! My husband loved them, and our two friends. I recommend making them without the corn starch and going for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedApple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I did not enjoy these - to me they just ended up tasting like cornstarch. I added vanilla and decreased the butter to 3/4 c as recommended by other reviewers. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I used 3/4 cup butter per reviews. Also used canned water packed cherries, drained well on paper towel, saved juice, added a little powdered sugar to make glaze for cookie...my husband hasn't even tried these yet but I know he will love them, I should have doubled the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Sorry, I had high hopes. Very little flavour and apart from freezing them, they constantly broke apart. Too much butter, too little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed the comments to only use 3/4 cup butter and they came out great! Will definitely make them again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Great variation on shortbread, festive and my grandson loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made these using marichino cherries, and thought they were sort of bland. Maybe if you used a fresh cherry, they would have more flavor. Also, they do fall apart using one cup of butter, but they also melt in your mouth!! Will not make again, but they are a really pretty little cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Rolling Fork, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States