Cherry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
i have made this for years, using cherry pie filling, pecans, cool whip, coconut and small marshmellows,, either as a salad alone or you can put this in 2 graham cracker pie shells,,, my family loves it.. hubby especially haha, he is a big eagle brand milk nut haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made something similar to this at Christmas for many years. I start with a softened 8oz. cream cheese and mix it well with the condensed milk. Then add a can of pineapple and the cherry pie filling and cool whip. It is always a hit! Very sweet, but wonderful with ham or ham balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Delicious!! I also added a drained can of pinapple tid bits and 1/2 bag mini marshmallows...mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I also add pineapple and walnuts, do not even consider leaving out the sweetened condensed milk as this will leave you with a sloppy mess. The SC milk is what thickens it. It will last days in the fridge without becoming runny. It takes just minutes to make and items can be kept on hand for an easy dish to bring to any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is good as is or as a good base for some additions. It is wonderful with pecans or walnuts and some pineapple chucks (well drained or it gets runny). I would recommend keeping it in the fridge for a couple of hours before servng to give it time to set up - it is much better cold....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is one of our favorites; if you decide to use pineapple (as other versions of this recipe include), be sure to use pineapple tidbits because you can drain them easily. Using crushed pineapple will dilute the whipped topping and make the salad soupy. Pecans work well with this but the recipe stands on its own: creamy, fruity, sweet good stuff. If you make it and serve immediately, it will be creamy and fluffy; if you wait a few hours, it will be firmer but still smooth; just depends on your preference, we like it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
we add pineapple and walnuts to this in my family and freeze part of it... it delicious slightly thawed and completely thawed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Made this for a picnic and loved it. I added pineapple tidbits and fine walnuts. It was so easy to throw together. I'm making it for a funeral this weekend. Will definitely become a regular recipe when I don't have time to bake. Next time I'll use strawberry pie filling, bananas and peanuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Like others, I used this as a "starter" recipe and added the works -- pineapple, marshmellows, cream cheese and nuts. It turned out to be very pretty but not very flavorful. In the future I will cut out the condensed milk and add some cherry Jello to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I love this...add some drained pineapple and walnuts and it's hard to walk away from this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States