Cherry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very simple and yummy! You can put it together in a snap. The only thing is that I'd halve the condensed milk next time, because it was almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is good as is or as a good base for some additions. It is wonderful with pecans or walnuts and some pineapple chucks (well drained or it gets runny). I would recommend keeping it in the fridge for a couple of hours before servng to give it time to set up - it is much better cold....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Like others, I used this as a "starter" recipe and added the works -- pineapple, marshmellows, cream cheese and nuts. It turned out to be very pretty but not very flavorful. In the future I will cut out the condensed milk and add some cherry Jello to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
OK this is a very sweet dessert, but delightful none the less. I did add a few ingredients as this to me was more of a "starter recipe" for all the wonderful variations you can think of. I added one package of philly cream cheese softened, a handful of mini marshmallows, and a handful of "toasted" walnuts. I was contemplating adding pineapple tidbits as another suggested but I think for now I'll leave it alone. I will make this again. Oh, don't forget about mandarin oranges as another alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was very good except I added marshmallows to it. I would have added pineapples too, but my husband doesn't like them. Next time I will try that though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is one of our favorites; if you decide to use pineapple (as other versions of this recipe include), be sure to use pineapple tidbits because you can drain them easily. Using crushed pineapple will dilute the whipped topping and make the salad soupy. Pecans work well with this but the recipe stands on its own: creamy, fruity, sweet good stuff. If you make it and serve immediately, it will be creamy and fluffy; if you wait a few hours, it will be firmer but still smooth; just depends on your preference, we like it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I had ingredients on hand, so decided to try. It was ok, my children had mixed opinions as well. Very sweet with a strong condensed milk flavor, needs something more - like pineapple, nuts or marshmallows to give it some bulk. I probably will give it one more try with the extra ingredients. I personally would not take this to any special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I also add pineapple and walnuts, do not even consider leaving out the sweetened condensed milk as this will leave you with a sloppy mess. The SC milk is what thickens it. It will last days in the fridge without becoming runny. It takes just minutes to make and items can be kept on hand for an easy dish to bring to any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made something similar to this at Christmas for many years. I start with a softened 8oz. cream cheese and mix it well with the condensed milk. Then add a can of pineapple and the cherry pie filling and cool whip. It is always a hit! Very sweet, but wonderful with ham or ham balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
we add pineapple and walnuts to this in my family and freeze part of it... it delicious slightly thawed and completely thawed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States