Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I have the same recipe and make it at Christmas every year. My ingredients for this recipe is the same but my method is a bit different. The night before, I pace the cherries in a seive over a bowl to drain throughly so they are dry (so that they don't bleed into the cake and make it pink.) I sometimes use more cherries then asked for as I love cherries. Keep the juice so that you can make a glaze with icing sugar & almond extract. I spread about one-third on the bottom of a bundt pan ( Bundt pan sprinkled with red sugar)I then arrange one-third of the cherries evenly on the batter, then repeat with two more layers of batter followed by cherries; spreading evenly with spatula. Bake for 60 minutes. Drizzle glaze over top. For an added touch, sift icing sugar over the top as well. Yummy.Very presentable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Just a perfect little cake--moist, tender crumb, with just the right amount of cherries--any more than what the recipe called for would have been overkill. This fit perfectly in one of the smaller, specialty Bundt pans and made a really beautiful presentation glazed with a mixture of reserved cherry juice and powdered sugar and just a light sprinkling of white jimmies. I found, however, that I had to bake it for a much shorter time, so I would suggest checking it after 50-55 minutes so as not to overbake--this may be the reason for the dryness some reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I loved this cake! The only thing I changed was to use almond extract in place of the vanilla. It only took an hour, and it was moist and delicious! I also made the glaze as suggested in another review using the cherry juice and icing sugar, and more almond extract. Everyone at work who tried it loved it! This recipe will definitely be added to my annual Xmas baking! ***Edit: I also tried this recipe using Splenda and it did not turn out well - the consistency of the dough was different, and it did not rise well at all, which affected the end product. It came out very heavy and didn't have a very good texture. I ended up throwing out almost all of it. Next time I make it I'll definitely stick with the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Awesome cake!! I, in an atypical fashion, didn't change the recipe a bit, and it turned out wonderfully. Dredging the cherries in the flour made them hold their color and shape, thus making nice, juicy, plump bites of cherry, and a cake that stayed a creamy white, and didn't bleed pink. I did find, however, that it took less time to cook than stated in the recipe. You might want to start checking for doneness sooner than the 80 minutes (mine took about an hour to cook). I cubed this cake after cooling it and used it with a dessert fondue. De-lish!!!! Thanks for the yummy recipe, Holly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Wonderful! I took the advice of other posters and added more cherries. I decorated with a glaze made from reserved cherry juice, powdered sugar, & almond extract. I made this 2 days ago and it is still moist. I cooked it in a bundt pan for only 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Good and pretty cake. I didn't have maraschino cherries, so I used candied ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Very good pound cake with a splash of the color red. I let the cherries drain very well, before dredging in flour. So I had creamy pound cake with just spots of cherries. The taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I made this cake for Father's Day, and it tasted sooooo good! It was creamy and fluffly, and even though it's a little bit fattening......it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made this for Christmas and it is absolutely the best tasting cake! It is easy to make and DELICIOUS! A couple of slight derivations: I baked it for 60 minutes, which was PERFECT; also, I bit the bullet and purchased the BIG marischino cherries - it was so worth it! I also added powdered sugar sifted on the top of the cake when cooled. It WILL be a cake that I will regularly make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Really really good cake, I've been baking this recipe for years. You know, it's really nice to sprinkle some chopped pecans on the bottom of the greased pan before you add the cake mixture, the pecans show on the top of the cake and makes it extra special, especially at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States