Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this for the first time to serve to guests of Ronald McDonald House for Christmas. I made a double batch and every piece was gone. I used a 10oz. jar of cherries for each cake, drained overnight, dredged in flour, and added whole into the batter. I thought the mixer would crush them up but was pleasantly surprised that they remained whole. It was so pretty when cut to see entire cherries cut through each slice. I even made a quick icing of powdered sugar, cherry juice, milk, and vanilla and then drizzled it over the top and put the rest in a squeeze bottle. Everyone loved it. I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my first review. I enjoyed this cake so much that I felt compelled to rate it. It was very easy to make. I used 2 jars of cherries as suggested. When done, I made a glaze of cherry juice and powdered sugar to put on top. I also put walnuts on the bottom of the bundt pan. These made such a nice addition to an already tasty cake. This will be a keeper that we will use every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I baked this today and it turned out awesome!!It taste great!! Looks just like the picture posted! I baked in convection oven at 300 degrees and it took 60 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARPERNSMARTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love this cake. Have made it for the past several Christmases and it never lasts long. I don't always use solely maraschino cherries, but will use canned/jarred cherries (without syrup) on occasion. They aren't quite as pretty, but I prefer the flavor to the maraschino. Usually I mix the two and will add more cherries than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I just got done putting the glaze on this cake and then of course tasting it. It was delicious! I followed the recipe to a "T" and made no changes to the actual cake. Only thing I did different was to make a glaze using 1 cup Confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp almond extract and 2 Tbsp reserved juice from cherries. Fantastic! Will be making this for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Yummy in my tummy this was such a good cake! I made this for my mom's birthday and she loved. It was so moist and so good. I could eat this cake every day and it would still would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this cake today and just ate the first piece. It is so delicious. I also added more cherries and I layered the cherries as someone else suggested and used some of the cherry juice in the glaze. I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJOYLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a simple and great cake to make with a pleasant taste. Also presents very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA DUTCHESS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this cherry pound cake this afternoon and it turned out perfect, excellent very moist the best cake I ever made !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monabrown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I love this bread!! Made it for the holidays...very easy n enjoyable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States