Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Yummy moist pound cake. I added canned cherries (not pie filling, just cherries) and almond extract. Then, I made a simple powdered sugar, almond extract and milk glaze to pour over the top after it cooled. I got rave reviews. However, it only needs to be baked for about an hour, maybe less, not the 80 minutes claimed. ...I just made it again. I think 45 minutes is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Made this as my contribution for Thanksgiving dinner. I'm an alien and don't like pumpkin pie. I later made it for my dad's birthday, he loves cherries. Was delicious both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Mmmm. We all love this one. I've baked it twice so far. The second time I reduced the butter and added a bit of vegetable oil. It made for a slightly moister texture that I tend to prefer in cakes. It's so pretty baked in a fluted bundt pan and dusted with icing sugar. Nice for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I just made this cake and it is perfect for what I was looking for very moist and great flavor. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've made this cake several times for friends and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this for the first time to serve to guests of Ronald McDonald House for Christmas. I made a double batch and every piece was gone. I used a 10oz. jar of cherries for each cake, drained overnight, dredged in flour, and added whole into the batter. I thought the mixer would crush them up but was pleasantly surprised that they remained whole. It was so pretty when cut to see entire cherries cut through each slice. I even made a quick icing of powdered sugar, cherry juice, milk, and vanilla and then drizzled it over the top and put the rest in a squeeze bottle. Everyone loved it. I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my first review. I enjoyed this cake so much that I felt compelled to rate it. It was very easy to make. I used 2 jars of cherries as suggested. When done, I made a glaze of cherry juice and powdered sugar to put on top. I also put walnuts on the bottom of the bundt pan. These made such a nice addition to an already tasty cake. This will be a keeper that we will use every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I baked this today and it turned out awesome!!It taste great!! Looks just like the picture posted! I baked in convection oven at 300 degrees and it took 60 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARPERNSMARTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love this cake. Have made it for the past several Christmases and it never lasts long. I don't always use solely maraschino cherries, but will use canned/jarred cherries (without syrup) on occasion. They aren't quite as pretty, but I prefer the flavor to the maraschino. Usually I mix the two and will add more cherries than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I just got done putting the glaze on this cake and then of course tasting it. It was delicious! I followed the recipe to a "T" and made no changes to the actual cake. Only thing I did different was to make a glaze using 1 cup Confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp almond extract and 2 Tbsp reserved juice from cherries. Fantastic! Will be making this for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States