Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a very good cake and very festive-looking for the holidays. I made the glaze as suggested by many reviewers but I would actually just do a dusting of powdered sugar next time. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I added fresh cherries,very moist and good flavor.Ithink any fruit might be good in this pound cake.My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made exactly as directions state. The taste was good but the cake was just a bit to dry for our liking. And to be fair I am not personally a fan of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I served this at a bridal shower and received rave reviews. Personally though I was very underwhelmed with it. If I were to make this again I would double the amount of cherries, add some of the cherry juice to the batter to make it pink, and had a glaze/frosting to the finished cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This cake is delicious with just the right amount of cherry flavor. I made this around the holidays, tinted the batter green and used a specialty bundt pan that was evergreen trees. I glazed it with powdered sugar icing and it looked gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Yummy moist pound cake. I added canned cherries (not pie filling, just cherries) and almond extract. Then, I made a simple powdered sugar, almond extract and milk glaze to pour over the top after it cooled. I got rave reviews. However, it only needs to be baked for about an hour, maybe less, not the 80 minutes claimed. ...I just made it again. I think 45 minutes is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Made this as my contribution for Thanksgiving dinner. I'm an alien and don't like pumpkin pie. I later made it for my dad's birthday, he loves cherries. Was delicious both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Mmmm. We all love this one. I've baked it twice so far. The second time I reduced the butter and added a bit of vegetable oil. It made for a slightly moister texture that I tend to prefer in cakes. It's so pretty baked in a fluted bundt pan and dusted with icing sugar. Nice for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I just made this cake and it is perfect for what I was looking for very moist and great flavor. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've made this cake several times for friends and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States