Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ok...I didn't find it had that "WOW" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good I have made it twice now. the first time I used 1/4 tsp of almond extract because I don't like it much and it came out good, then I made it with 2 tsp of vanilla and no almond flavoring and it was perfect! its the cake I have been looking for. thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
did not like the receipe. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Nice texture and flavour to this cake (not dry as others stated). I made them into cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) as I was taking them into the office for a staff treat. I did use candied cherries as I had some leftover from making shortbread cookies. Because of using the candied cherries, I scaled the sugar back to one cup from 1 1/2 cups. Good thing I did as I don't like a pound cake that is overly sweet and this was just perfect. I used an almond icing glaze on the cupcakes and topped with chopped cherry bits. Festive for the Christmas Season, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I gave it four stars because as written it likely would be very dry without enough cherries. I only baked it 60 minutes, and it was perfectly done. My oven is new and spot on temperature. I took the advise of other reviewers and doubled the cherries. With those minor changes, this is at least 5 stars. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious Recipe! I've made it many times and given it as gifts for the holidays. Everyone really loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Fantastic! Don't be shy with the cherries. A huge hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this pound cake December 2009, it was the first time I ever made a cake from scratch and everyone loved it. My husband comes from a line of cooks and they have and old pound cake family recipe they dont share...(from his great great grandma) I made it without the cherries too and they couldn't tell which piece was his family's or mine on a fam reunion!!! Tasty, soft and melts in your mouth! Awsome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
First time I made this, I dredged the cherries completely as instructed. I didn't care for that too much - the cake was delicious, but I thought I'd actually prefer a little cherry flavor in the cake. The second time, I doubled the cherries and didn't dredge so much or long, and it was perfect for me! I love this cake and will make it for special occasions again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This cake is good. Tastes a lot like a doughnut. I made it with a chocolate glaze and some sliced almonds on top. Maybe I would like it more with more cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States