Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious, BUT ... do not serve it the same day it is made! Once cool, wrap well and let it sit for at least 24 hours. (Longer is probably better, but it didn't last long enough to find out!) It was dry after first cooling, but got moister after wrapping it for a day. I did bake it for 80 minutes, as directed, but would probably start checking at 60 minutes next time. Nice, subtle, classic pound cake flavor, and the cherries are a great addition. As some have suggested, I may increase them if making this again. I topped it simply, with sifted confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is excellent and I top with a cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was excellent! But, I did at least double the cherries and I would even add more. Just a personal taste. I might try it with slivered almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This came out awesome - I love it!! I made an icing with the cherry juice and conf sugar and some almond extract, it was tasty but I made it too thin and it absorbed into the cake which is good too but it's not as nice looking as I imagined it would be lol but it'll get eaten, my son and his friend really like this cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Best pound cake ever!!! Didn't change a thing. I used the Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting by Lilster on this website. Goes really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Perfect Pound Cake Everytime. Relied heavily on this cherry cake during the holidays for entertaining multiple guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! I have made this cake twice in less than a week and although I've been known to tweek the ingredients, I had no need to with this recipe. Okay, the only thing I did change the second time I made it, was to add lots and lots of cherries! For me, the recipe made two loaves. I absolutely love it and am so happy to have found a delicious pound cake FINALLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The overpowering taste of baking soda was a huge turn off. I gave this 3 stars because it has great potential but not with that much soda and that long of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent - I topped with a glaze and cherries for a Christmas dessert. Drain the cherries before dredging - it makes life easier :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ok...I didn't find it had that "WOW" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States