Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Best pound cake ever!!! Didn't change a thing. I used the Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting by Lilster on this website. Goes really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Perfect Pound Cake Everytime. Relied heavily on this cherry cake during the holidays for entertaining multiple guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! I have made this cake twice in less than a week and although I've been known to tweek the ingredients, I had no need to with this recipe. Okay, the only thing I did change the second time I made it, was to add lots and lots of cherries! For me, the recipe made two loaves. I absolutely love it and am so happy to have found a delicious pound cake FINALLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The overpowering taste of baking soda was a huge turn off. I gave this 3 stars because it has great potential but not with that much soda and that long of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent - I topped with a glaze and cherries for a Christmas dessert. Drain the cherries before dredging - it makes life easier :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ok...I didn't find it had that "WOW" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good I have made it twice now. the first time I used 1/4 tsp of almond extract because I don't like it much and it came out good, then I made it with 2 tsp of vanilla and no almond flavoring and it was perfect! its the cake I have been looking for. thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
did not like the receipe. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Nice texture and flavour to this cake (not dry as others stated). I made them into cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) as I was taking them into the office for a staff treat. I did use candied cherries as I had some leftover from making shortbread cookies. Because of using the candied cherries, I scaled the sugar back to one cup from 1 1/2 cups. Good thing I did as I don't like a pound cake that is overly sweet and this was just perfect. I used an almond icing glaze on the cupcakes and topped with chopped cherry bits. Festive for the Christmas Season, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I gave it four stars because as written it likely would be very dry without enough cherries. I only baked it 60 minutes, and it was perfectly done. My oven is new and spot on temperature. I took the advise of other reviewers and doubled the cherries. With those minor changes, this is at least 5 stars. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States