Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I reduced the baking powder to 2tsps and the cake turned out to be a denser but very moist cake, almost like a steamed cake in texture. I also doubled the amount of cherries and used fresh pitted cherries with great success. Fresh blueberries also work and adding some streusel on top makes it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Love, love love this recipe. I did change it a little bit, I used half the eggs as egg whites, half the sugar was Splenda , a little more cream cheese and a little less butter. I made a icing with the juice of the cherries, I will for sure use more cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorigirl98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent! nice and moist, and good crumb. I did add a bit more almond flavoring, and I followed cookies suggestion regarding the layering of batter and cherries. It ensures a more even distribution of the cherries. I used my bundt pan, and finished it off with a thin glaze. Thanks for posting a great rercipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is really good, the cake has a nice flavour. The only thing I'll do next time is at least double the amount of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as directed except I cooked it in mini loaf pans for 45 minutes. It was delicious, next time I may sub the vanilla extract with almond as suggested by others as I would have appreciated more almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love this recipe. The cake is so delicious. I made a few changes. I did not add the almond extract (personal taste....i don't like it). Also instead of cherries I used dried cranberries and the zest of one orange. For a glaze I used confectioners sugar, warm milk and the juice of half an orange mixed together and drizzled over the top. It was awesome. It disappeared quickly at my husband's work holiday party. I will definately make this cake again and I am gonna try the cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious, BUT ... do not serve it the same day it is made! Once cool, wrap well and let it sit for at least 24 hours. (Longer is probably better, but it didn't last long enough to find out!) It was dry after first cooling, but got moister after wrapping it for a day. I did bake it for 80 minutes, as directed, but would probably start checking at 60 minutes next time. Nice, subtle, classic pound cake flavor, and the cherries are a great addition. As some have suggested, I may increase them if making this again. I topped it simply, with sifted confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is excellent and I top with a cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was excellent! But, I did at least double the cherries and I would even add more. Just a personal taste. I might try it with slivered almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This came out awesome - I love it!! I made an icing with the cherry juice and conf sugar and some almond extract, it was tasty but I made it too thin and it absorbed into the cake which is good too but it's not as nice looking as I imagined it would be lol but it'll get eaten, my son and his friend really like this cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States