Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
It actually slid right out of the pan! I used a full pint jar of bottled cherries plus a little of the juice, and it cooked in 60 minutes, not 80. Fantastic! I made it a 1 mile high, and it handled the altitude really well. A very slightly sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeaWench
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very delicious. I cooked for 60 mins and that was a fraction too long I think. The cake was slightly on the dry side but still really enjoyable. I cooked it in a 9.5 inch bundt pan as I couldn't find an 8 inch one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This one is a keeper! We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Delicious! This recipe is a keeper. Added a few more cherries and made the glaze with cherry juice , confectioner sugar and almond extract. Moist and slices easily. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very easy to make. Absolutely reduce the baking time to a maximum of 50 min. or it will be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I reduced the baking powder to 2tsps and the cake turned out to be a denser but very moist cake, almost like a steamed cake in texture. I also doubled the amount of cherries and used fresh pitted cherries with great success. Fresh blueberries also work and adding some streusel on top makes it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Love, love love this recipe. I did change it a little bit, I used half the eggs as egg whites, half the sugar was Splenda , a little more cream cheese and a little less butter. I made a icing with the juice of the cherries, I will for sure use more cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorigirl98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent! nice and moist, and good crumb. I did add a bit more almond flavoring, and I followed cookies suggestion regarding the layering of batter and cherries. It ensures a more even distribution of the cherries. I used my bundt pan, and finished it off with a thin glaze. Thanks for posting a great rercipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is really good, the cake has a nice flavour. The only thing I'll do next time is at least double the amount of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as directed except I cooked it in mini loaf pans for 45 minutes. It was delicious, next time I may sub the vanilla extract with almond as suggested by others as I would have appreciated more almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States