Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Have tried this twice once with little pieces of pineapple. It is a wonderful cake soft and moist. Just perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
OH so good! I added more cherries & used some of the cherry juice in the icing. I brought it to work and it was gone in an hour and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The cherry flavor was good, but the cake was very dry. I made two 8 inch layer cakes plus cupcakes and checked them frequently to make sure they were pulled out as soon as done. Texture was almost like cornbread, very crumbly. They were for my six year old daughter's birthday, and she did not care for them. Cake that doesn't pass the kid test is not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas in a fancy bundt cake pan and topped it with a glaze made with powdered sugar, milk, and almond extract. I added extra cherries to the cake batter as others have mentioned. It was delicious and was a huge hit in a family that usually prefers chocolate! (They loved the chocolate cake I made but it was not as popular.) It also looked beautiful on a pretty glass cake plate garnished with cherries. This cake will be a new Christmas tradition in our family, too. Thanks for sharing Nana's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this cake for Christmas then didn't serve it so I froze it and then brought it out about 2 weeks later. It stayed moist for well over a week kept well wrapped at room temperature. I think it could have used a little more almond extract. I will be making it again soon to please my husband who was crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Fabulous...especially with adding some extra cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
It actually slid right out of the pan! I used a full pint jar of bottled cherries plus a little of the juice, and it cooked in 60 minutes, not 80. Fantastic! I made it a 1 mile high, and it handled the altitude really well. A very slightly sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeaWench
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very delicious. I cooked for 60 mins and that was a fraction too long I think. The cake was slightly on the dry side but still really enjoyable. I cooked it in a 9.5 inch bundt pan as I couldn't find an 8 inch one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This one is a keeper! We serve it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Delicious! This recipe is a keeper. Added a few more cherries and made the glaze with cherry juice , confectioner sugar and almond extract. Moist and slices easily. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States