Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I used raspberry jam instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I loved these! Easy and fun to make. I made them for a cookie exchange and was sure to keep a bunch for myself. I accidently doubled the poppyseeds and still they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Very good cookie. The only thing I did different was drizzle powdered sugar and milk glaze over the top to make them look cuter for the cookie tray. They are really good. I love the cherry preserves. I hadn't tried cherry preserves before and they work perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Just made these yesterday...the texture is really nice, and I really like the poppyseeds too. I used redcurrant preserve, as that was what I had on hand. This was my first go at a thumbprintcookie, so I had a bit of trouble with indent/jam ratio. Some cookies had jam overload, and it sort of bubbled down one side. No problem, really, as I was decorating some other cookies with white chocolate glaze. Took out the whisk, and drizzled, criss-cross, over the top of the whole batch. Hid the flaws, and it looked great.Will definetley make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I loved these cookies! So simple and delicious. I did drop the vanilla to 1/4 t and added 1/4 t almond extract. The kids and hubby likes these too, and they went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These cookies are WONDERFUL. I made them for the first time at Christmas, and have made them many times since then. They ARE almost addictive! I make them rather large, and make the thumbprints deep to hold lots of jam. (I've used strawberry and raspberry too.) They spread out while baking, and I like the jam to cover most of the cookie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious: light and buttery. Cherry preserves add a nice sour filling. I found that making the "thumbprint" wide and deep provided the best results. I also baked them at 325 because they weren't getting done at 300. I baked until slightly brown on the edges. I made some with cherry preserves and some with blueberry. Both very good. Next time, I'm going to try some with lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I made these with raspberry preserves rather than cherry (just my preference), and they are wonderful....crumbly without being dry, buttery, and the poppy seeds give a lovely subtle flavor and beautiful appearance. Great with coffee. Would be a wonderful cookie for tea, a shower, or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
If I could only give these 10 stars! They are fantastic. The poppy seeds are a nice change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Delicious--wonderful texture and they taste divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States