Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had jam from my Christmas package and needed to bring something to a family dinner. The idea of thumbprint cookies came to me. Unforunately I couldn't find any poppy seeds at such notice but I just did without. The cookies are very light and have a subtle taste. Very nice! Tip: don't make the cookies very big (about the size of a quarter) and make sure the thumbprint is nice and deep, otherwise when the cookies melt in the oven, the jam will go everywhere. Also don't make the thumbprint too deep - enough cookie must stay under the jam, otherwise you get a gooey mess when you pick the cookie up. Next time with poppy seeds, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I've had this recipe in my recipe box for several years, and just got around to using it, and now I know that I will continue to use it. Very good, very easy. Can't ask for more than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I have been making these cookies at "cookie day" with my friends and sisters for a several years and they are wonderful! Very easy and always a hit. One year someone new to our group made them too big and they were on the ugly side. To save them I made a glaze of powdered sugar, milk and a touch of almond extract to drizzle over the cookies. They looked fantastic and the almond was great with the cherry! We now use the glaze every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I've made these cookies every year for Christmas since I discovered them (can't remember how long, but at least 4 years now). They are my absolute favorite! Delicate, not too sweet, and a little tart from the cherry preserves. They don't last long at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I made these for a cookie exchange. I needed to find something easy, tasty, and different than the usual cookie exchange cookies. These cookies are melt in your mouth good, so make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These are the best. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I love these cookies. I made them last year for our annual Christmas cookie baking day and they were a hit. Cookie day is tomorrow and I am looking forward to these cookies. *Update-I have been making these every year since 2004 (I think) for my annual cookie day with my friends because I love them and because they are always requested. I have used all different flavors of jam over the years and they are good no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Delicious and really easy. The poppyseeds add a unique flavor. I will add this recipe to my cookie recipe collection and definitely make them again at Christmas. I may even try apricot jam instead of cherry! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Loved these - they were very good and easy, and the poppy seeds really added something different. Even my husband ate them, and he's very picky about unusual additions to his food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I was very disappointed by these cookies as I found the the dough very bland. I like the idea of using cherry preserves as a cookie filling, but the flavor of the actual cookie was just too dull. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States