Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are good. I rolled them in little balls before make the indentation & they look more proessionally made. I also dusted them with powdered sugar. I may make them with lemon curd instead of jelly next time. 5-20-10 - tried them with lemon curd, but like the jelly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a number of years and have tried many variations. One of my favourites is to add a little lemon juice (instead of vanilla) and some grated lemon rind. The combination of lemon/poppy seed with just a dollop of cherry preserves is very tasty! I also chill the dough to make it easier to work and I have learned the hard way to make a deep thumb print. These are very addictive and never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I have made this recipe recently and they are absolutely fabulous. You don't have to stick with just cherry jelly/jam however. You can also try different fruits like strawberry. I used strawberry and apricot and everyone thought they were fantastic. very flaky and light cookies that seem to melt away in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilhippo21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These cookies would be great with any kind of preserves, I think. I used kumquat in half and strawberry in the other half. Both were delicious. I would recommend chilling the dough before scooping it, though, so the cookies don't spread out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This cookie came out wonderful! My boyfriend loved every bite! After reading the reviews, I decided to use Almond Extract instead of vanilla. I also used Strawberry Preserves. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
these were good,but not exceptional. As others have stated a little bland, maybe the almond flavour would shine thru?? I also love poppy seeds so i double those. didn't have cherry preserves so i used apricot for half and wildberry for other half. I would make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These cookies were good--melted in your mouth. They could be made with any kind of fruit preserve. I ran out of cherry so used blackberry. The flavor of the cookie base was a little mild--I think using almond extract instead of vanilla would give the flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Marvellous!! I made them with rasberry preserves and with lemon curd. It is one of the best recipes I have ever tried!! My husband and friends love the poppy seed twinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
i made these cookies at christmas time. they were great and everyone loved them. i gave them to friends and family members. i will make these cookies every christmas and at other times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These tasted better when they came right out of the oven, but I would not recommend freezing. They defrost kind of soggy. Not many of them came out too pretty. I think if you would refrigerate the dough for a little bit, it may allow it to be more workable. It is a very sticky dough. I probably wouldn't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States