Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is an outstanding recipe. I followed it exactly, and was extremely pleased with the results. The almonds provide a nice crunch to the finish, and the cherries are allowed to shine. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I have been making fresh fruit pies and cobblers for years but was looking for somrthing a little different so I tried this recipe last night. I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed with the crumb topping. It was more salty and less sweet than I would have liked. If I were to make this again, I would decrease some of the salt in the topping and add more sugar to both the pie filling and the topping as well. I'd also give a more precise measurement for the lemon juice and only use 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arianne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a very easy and delicious recipe to make. Perfect during the summer when ripe cherries are on sale! The almond crumble is crunchy and is the perfect complement to the soft cherries. I learned a tip from a French baker: if you want to add less sugar to a recipe you can reduce it by 30g without drastically changing the flavor. That's what I did and it was the perfect amount of sweetness since my cherries were already naturally sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was perfect exactly as written. Taste your cherries and add more/less depending on their sweetness or preference. The almond topping was key....delicious. Don't 'pack' it on the pie though, as it will turn into a 'harder' crust than desired. This recipe lets the cherries be showcased without a lot of cinnamon or almond flavoring etc. upstaging them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust with this b/c I had one left over. I used 1/2 the flour and more almonds, 4T of butter and added 1/8t of clove and 1/8t of cinnamon for the crumb. I also added 1/4t of Garam Masala (an Indian spice mixture of coriander seed, black pepper, cumin, cardamom and cinnamon) to the filling for some added spice. Yummy with ice cream or milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Super easy and super delicious. A girlfriend brought this to work. Everyone was so impressed , that I had to go home and make it that night. Lots of flavor for a little bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Is 3565 calories REALLY correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It was quite a bit of work since I didn't have a cherry pitter, but the result was great! Loved the granola almond topping. I took this pie to a party and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Best cherry pie. Ever. Made exactly as written, and I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I loved the almonds in the topping. They were nice both flavor-wise and for the extra texture they brought to it. I used two bags of frozen dark sweet cherries and liked that it didn't get overly sweet. I think this is my go-to cherry pie now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States