Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I tried this recipe twice. The first time through, I followed the recipe to a "T" and the pie was perfect! The second time through, I used all the same amounts and did everything the same, EXCEPT I didn't cook the cherries and sugar and cornstarch. I mixed them all together in a bowl and let them macerate for a few minutes, then placed them in the crust and baked. The cherries held together better this way and the juices still made a nice gel to hold it all together. I'd suggeset cooking the pie a little longer, though, if you do it this way, because you aren't starting with a hot filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
5-Star filling. I used my own crust and 2 one pound bags of frozen, tart, red cherries (Let thaw before cooking or you'll be stirring for an hour!. I also added an extra 1/2 tbls. of cornstarch as the frozen berries were giving off a ton of liquid. I was told by four different people to open a bakery after they tasted this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I'm not a fan of cherry pie myself, but even I enjoyed this recipe. I used frozen "dark sweet" cherries and the "Pie Crust" recipe from this site. My only problem was that I couldn't get the cherry mixture to come to a boil. Finally, after about 25 minutes of trying, it started to really thicken up so I went ahead and finished the recipe without it ever actually boiling. This didn't seem to affect anything though, and everyone who tried it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
5 stars for filling, 1 star crust... Definitely use the filling from this recipe. It is so amazingly good! It's off the charts great and you almost hear a heavenly choir as you taste the perfect flavors. But the key to this recipe is to replace the crust. Look up a totally different recipe for the crust. This crust has good flakiness, but is so very bland that it detracts from the superb filling. My family ate the filling and scraped the crust away to avoid that part - even with the cinnamon and sugar I sprinkled on top to combat it. No, you can't salvage it by adding a little this and that. Trust me, you do not want this crust at all. BUT - The filling is the BEST! It has such great flavor! Can't say enough good about that! I am adopting the filling as my permanent cherry filling recipe. Mmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
OMG! This is the most delicious cherry pie ever! My hands looked like I was an extra for a horror film after pitting all those cherries, but it was worth it. I added a tsp. of vanilla to the filling mixture, but other than than, I wouldn't change a thing! I did a lattice top and used a different pie crust - "Grandma's Secrect Pie Crust" from this site. It's perfect for this pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This wonderful pie filling recipe has solved my problem with runny cherries without a pasty or custardy filling. I used my own crust instead. I can see why it won first place. And oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLITTLETON
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was a very good recipe, just the right texture for the filling. It was a little too sweet for my tastes, but that is something that varies widely among different people. I would only suggest tasting the mixture as you are adding the sugar if you prefer more a more tart cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Four stars only because I used a different crust. I used very ripe pie cherries straight from the tree. The filling was spectacular - the gel amongst the cherries was like silk. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Finally--a recipe for a cherry-pie filling that actually gels! I can't describe how many cherry pies I've made that were too runny or too dry. This recipe also works fine with sweet cherries. Thanks very much, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This tasty recipe left me licking my fingers after I finally placed the pie in the oven. The included crust recipe is a little bland, but this pie is otherwise a great treat. The almond extract makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States