Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
After having read the reviews I used a crust recipe that I already had. I loved the flavor of this filling. it was spectacular. However, the 4 star rating comes from the fact that even though I made it twice it did not gel properly. I used fresh, dark cherries. I am not sure if the water content is higher in those vs. the sour cherries but it was just soupy. Delicious, but soupy. It was so good that I will try it again with a little bit more cornstarch and hope for the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt at cherry pie. I used 5 cans tart pie cherries (well drained), which turned out to be just enough. The almond extract made ALL the difference in the filling (which is DELICIOUS)--don't skip it! The only problem I had with the filling was my cherries didn't hold together, but that's probably because I used canned ones that were already very mushy. If you're going to do a lattice crust, let the filling cool first! I didn't, and was left trying to weave melting, stretching strips of dough with very little success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used my own crust recipe, so this rating is just for the filling. Other than cutting the recipe in half (just my wife and I) I followed the recipe to a tee. This is the best cherry pie I have ever had! The balance of sweet and tart is perfect. Baked it in a 6 inch pie pan for 45 minutes. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This pie rocks! My boyfriend's mom makes the best pies, so I had some stiff competition our first Christmas together. This pie blew anything he had eaten before out of the water. While we liked how sweet it was, some of you may want to use slightly less sugar if that's not your thing. Oh, skip the crust. I bought one at the store and just glazed it with egg whites and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good but a tad too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yup, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
i used ready-made crust with this pie but it's absolutely delicious! I will be making this again! Thank you Beth for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This pie was great, but I was disappointed because I couldn't find any sour cherries. I used sweet red cherries and left out some of the sugar. Everybody loved it, but I want to make it with sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was my first attempt at a cherry pie, ad I will never use another recipe again! So easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I didn't have almond extract so I used brandy extract and it was great. Pitted fresh bing cherries (won't work that hard again). Great Pie!!! Also, this is one of the easiest crusts I'v ever made but I'd recommend a little more salt, that's it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States