Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
One word for this pie - EXCELLENT -Been looking for a cherry pie worth the effort and this is the one. Used fresh cherries and my own crust and it turned out beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This pie filling is awesome! I can't speak for the crust because we used my mom's recipe. I made this pie for Easter and wasn't able to find fresh cherries anywhere. I substituted 3 cans of tart cherries packed in water, and also added the juice from about 1/2 a lemon. It was fantastic and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Cherry Pie has always been a problem for me since it is often sour and runny. This is the only recipe I make now. It always tastes great with the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
perfect cherry pie (and super easy too!) I personally like using Door County sour cherries; they make the best pie ever! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Wonderful flavor and not runny at all! I used 3 cans of tart cherries and it was the perfect blend of tart and sweet. I used the Baker's Secret pie crust, which I use for all my pies now and get rave reviews on it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I used up the frozen berrie in my freezer, blueberry, cherry, raspberry and blackberries, enought for 2lbs instead of all cherry. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yum! My 9 year-old daughter scraped every last bit of cherry off her plate. It was that good! I opted for vanilla instead of almond extract and stirred in an extra tablespoon of butter. Oh, and I added a dash of salt. I'll make it the same way next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My first pie ever! This pie turned out wonderful although the filling was a little runny at first. (fixed with cornstarch--- remember to stir with a little water in a glass BEFORE adding, or else it will clump into little white balls and look gross!) I learned that if you leave the pie in the fridge overnight the cornstarch makes the filling perfectly wiggly (my version of saying the right consistency). If you don't think the filling is thickening, leaving the pie in the fridge overnight will really perfect it. I put leaves and an acorn design in the middle. (be creative and make any design!) My mother doubted I could make a perfect pie---especially she doubted the crust --- but it was complemented on by my whole fam. In my taste the crust WAS a little bland, but you can fix that by sprinkling cinnamon and sugar over the bottom and top crusts. When refrigerating the crusts... you dont have to go the full timing.. just make sure they are chilled before using. I also used butter instead of shortening, i guess thats a bid old fashioned no-no, but it made it nice and flaky-- perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This pie turned out excellent! I had some frozen fresh sour cherries and I drained the juice into a sauce pan added the sugar & cornstarch then the cherries and cooked it till thick, then baked it in the oven and VIOLA! Cherry pie! I did cheat with the pie crust and bought a dairy case ready crust to save time. I will do this again with other fruits! Thanks! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Made this pie for my dad's birthday. He said he'd never had a better one in all his 64 years. LOVED(!!) this pie filling idea, as I don't like canned cherry pie filling that is full of red dye and high fructose corn syrup! Gave it 5 stars for filling taste/texture. However, I used my own crust recipe of 2C flour, 1tsp salt, 1C frozen, shredded unsalted butter and 1/2 C very cold heavy cream. With this pie filling and my own crust recipe this is an OUTSTANDING dessert! Thanks for being willing to share with us, Beth!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States