Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
WONDERFUL! I used to hate cherry pies, but after trying this, I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was excellent! I took other viewer's advice from the Cherry Pie III on this site & came over to this one because it calls for more cherries in the pie which I agree makes a tremendous difference!!! Everyone raved about it & left none for the baker:( I am off to make another one for me!! TFS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy2three

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I loved this pie! I did not have quite enough pie cherries for two pie, so I used 2.50lbs of pie cherries and .75lb of bing. I did not increase the sugar, but did add 1 additional TBL of cornstarch. Made enough filling for two pies. (oh, I should admit that I just used bought pie dough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I will be trying this soon for a friend and will update the rating then sounds awesome though.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This pie turned out great! My friends said they wanted this instead of birthday cake from now on...I would recommend this recipe--the fresh cherries are so much better than anything canned, you can really taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
OMG! This is the most delicious cherry pie ever! My hands looked like I was an extra for a horror film after pitting all those cherries, but it was worth it. I added a tsp. of vanilla to the filling mixture, but other than than, I wouldn't change a thing! I did a lattice top and used a different pie crust - "Grandma's Secrect Pie Crust" from this site. It's perfect for this pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This pie was amazing!!! I was a little short on cherries as I had to pick out a few bad ones from my bunch so I had some extra leftover dough. I also only used 1 cup of white sugar and still found it to be slightly too sweet for my taste - that would be my only change for next time...a bit less sugar. My BF said it was the best pie he's ever had though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitz The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe! It was the first pie I ever tried to make completely from scratch and talk about nailing it. I have to make a special mention of the crust. It comes out perfect every time. I've used it for this cheery pie, for an apple, and for a berries, and it's always perfectly flaky with the right amount of crunch and never gooey. My father is an excellent cook, and he's very hard to please, but every time I use this recipe, he goes on about how well the crust comes out. This pie never lasts long in my house! All in all, great recipe, one that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was my time making first cherry pie and it came out fantastic! I topped it with a proper lattice crust, and used fresh sour cherries. Next time, I might experiment with a little less sugar, so that the tartness comes through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Ok, I make pies all the time. I am not a novice, but I really messed something up on this one. I measured my cherries by weighing them (after pitting). I used 2 pounds, which actually measured out to between 4 and 5 cups. I used a different crust because I like my crust better. I forget to add the butter, so I dotted it on top. However, the pie was like soup. The filling thickened perfectly on the the stove top. But out of the oven it was like I had poured cherries and juice into the crust. It tasted yummy. The only thing I can think of was that while pitting the cherries, we lost power for about 7 hours causing me to put off finishing the pie for almost 24 hours. I put the cherries in the fridge and didn't add anything to them until I was ready to actually make the pie. I don't know if they sat to long? Crazy. I will try again, but maybe add a lot more cornstarch and remember to add the butter in. However, that shouldn't make a difference in the chemistry. Any ideas?***Edit*** Well, I cooled it in the refrigerator overnight. That caused it to gel and set up. I've never had to cool a pie completely before cutting. This one seems to require it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States