Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was excellent! I took other viewer's advice from the Cherry Pie III on this site & came over to this one because it calls for more cherries in the pie which I agree makes a tremendous difference!!! Everyone raved about it & left none for the baker:( I am off to make another one for me!! TFS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy2three

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I loved this pie! I did not have quite enough pie cherries for two pie, so I used 2.50lbs of pie cherries and .75lb of bing. I did not increase the sugar, but did add 1 additional TBL of cornstarch. Made enough filling for two pies. (oh, I should admit that I just used bought pie dough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I will be trying this soon for a friend and will update the rating then sounds awesome though.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This pie turned out great! My friends said they wanted this instead of birthday cake from now on...I would recommend this recipe--the fresh cherries are so much better than anything canned, you can really taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
OMG! This is the most delicious cherry pie ever! My hands looked like I was an extra for a horror film after pitting all those cherries, but it was worth it. I added a tsp. of vanilla to the filling mixture, but other than than, I wouldn't change a thing! I did a lattice top and used a different pie crust - "Grandma's Secrect Pie Crust" from this site. It's perfect for this pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This pie was amazing!!! I was a little short on cherries as I had to pick out a few bad ones from my bunch so I had some extra leftover dough. I also only used 1 cup of white sugar and still found it to be slightly too sweet for my taste - that would be my only change for next time...a bit less sugar. My BF said it was the best pie he's ever had though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitz The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe! It was the first pie I ever tried to make completely from scratch and talk about nailing it. I have to make a special mention of the crust. It comes out perfect every time. I've used it for this cheery pie, for an apple, and for a berries, and it's always perfectly flaky with the right amount of crunch and never gooey. My father is an excellent cook, and he's very hard to please, but every time I use this recipe, he goes on about how well the crust comes out. This pie never lasts long in my house! All in all, great recipe, one that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was my time making first cherry pie and it came out fantastic! I topped it with a proper lattice crust, and used fresh sour cherries. Next time, I might experiment with a little less sugar, so that the tartness comes through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Ok, I make pies all the time. I am not a novice, but I really messed something up on this one. I measured my cherries by weighing them (after pitting). I used 2 pounds, which actually measured out to between 4 and 5 cups. I used a different crust because I like my crust better. I forget to add the butter, so I dotted it on top. However, the pie was like soup. The filling thickened perfectly on the the stove top. But out of the oven it was like I had poured cherries and juice into the crust. It tasted yummy. The only thing I can think of was that while pitting the cherries, we lost power for about 7 hours causing me to put off finishing the pie for almost 24 hours. I put the cherries in the fridge and didn't add anything to them until I was ready to actually make the pie. I don't know if they sat to long? Crazy. I will try again, but maybe add a lot more cornstarch and remember to add the butter in. However, that shouldn't make a difference in the chemistry. Any ideas?***Edit*** Well, I cooled it in the refrigerator overnight. That caused it to gel and set up. I've never had to cool a pie completely before cutting. This one seems to require it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
One word for this pie - EXCELLENT -Been looking for a cherry pie worth the effort and this is the one. Used fresh cherries and my own crust and it turned out beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States