Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Delicious and easy. The crust is pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe that gels perfectly! For those like me who would have to google how many cups equals a pound of cherries, the answer is 2 1/2 cups per pound for small cherries or 3 cups for large cherries. I used 6 cups of larger cherries for this recipe and it was perfect! I like my pie tart since I always put vanilla ice cream on top so I reduced the sugar by 1/8 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I have made this cherry pie numerous times and it's always a huge success. The only change I make from this recipe is you don't have to heat and boil the cherries, sugar and cornstarch. Just mix all the ingredients together, stir them and let sit for 10 minutes. Then pour into pie shell cover with top crust and cook for 1 hour. Saves time by not having to boil the cherries and turns out just as perfect and hold together beautifully!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe was perfect! I used another cherry pie recipe last year when cherries were in season, and it was much more watery. The filling for this was, as another reviewer put it, like silk. I didn't think the crust was bland. It's just plain, flaky, and buttery, which is perfect with all the flavor of fresh cherries. My husband is allergic to corn, so I used potato starch, and added an extra tablespoon for more thickening. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond, since that's what I had. Thanks for the delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
i love how the picture looks i will just not make the pie but stare at the picture instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used 3 cans of tart cherries (in water)in a deep dish pie pan. I used 1 cup sugar, otherwise kept the recipe the same. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Great. I bought frozen sweet cherries from Sam's, but by the time I got home, they were almost defrosted; I had to make pie in a ramrod fashion, found this recipe to use, and ran with it. I used a storebought pie shell b/c I was doing this fast. Great timesaver also bc this recipe says the piecrust doesn't have to be prebaked. Bc these were sweet, not sour, cherries, I used only 3/4 cup of sugar. Perfect. I even rounded up the cornstarch to 1/4 cup. The consistency of filling was perfect. It should end up as thick as the canned cherries you can buy. I think those reviewers that complained of a runny filling didn't let it simmer long enough. You must be sure not to rush that step. You'll see the difference between thick like a gravy, and REALLY thick like pie filling. Keep simmering until it thickens like that. Will file this away to make again, perhaps using a combo of berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was my first time making a pie of any sort and man was it easy and so so yummy. I'm not sure why everyones been bashing the pie crust recipe because we thought the consistency was fine. It didn't crumble and it tasted fine! However I only chilled it for 2 hours because I was impatient and it was getting late. The pie was pretty sweet so I might add a little less sugar next time but it was still so so delicious! This will be my go to cherry pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Overall this was a great recipe. I used canned sour cherries (in water) and followed the recipe exactly. It was really sweet--too sweet for my taste. I used it with the Best Ever Pie Crust recipe, but might try a different crust if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Absolutely the best cherry pie recipe on here. I used 1lb of frozen dark sweet cherries (thawed before use) and cut the sugar used in half. Served with a dollop of freshly whipped cream and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Gariner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States