Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good pie. The next time I make it I will omit the almond extract. Although it isn't much it does give it a slight almond taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used premade Pillsbury pie crust. My husband told me after I made it that he didn't like cherry pie. But then he tried it. He said it was the best pie he had ever eaten! I think this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
OUTSTANDING! I had recently made an awful cherry pie and was on the hunt for a winning recipe and found this one! It's best to make it a day ahead so that the cherry gel sets well. I cut into it today and the filling stayed in place, not like the other recipe I used where the cherries rolled around like marbles in an ocean of juice. Going based on the other reviews, I made my own crust which is "no fail," so here it is: 10" Two-Crust Pie Pastry 1 cup butter 2-2/3 cups flour 1 tsp salt 10 tablespoons cold water Cut shortening into flour and salt until particles are size of small peas. Add water and toss dough with fork until all flour is moistened. Roll into two balls on floured surface. AWESOME RECIPE AND MY FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittySerbia
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Wow! Perfect cherry pie! I followed the filling part and found it to be right on in terms of sweetness and thickness. I am lucky in that sour cherries are at their peak right now, so I used one kilo of fresh cherries. I added the almond extract and thought I had made a big mistake; it was so "extract-y" tasting, but luckily, it all combined lovely once it baked and the true sour cherry flavor came through. I used the recipe for "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" from this sight instead of the one listed for this recipe (personal preference) and even made a lattice top! It was beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. I am truly happy with this recipe and it made my 11-year old super happy on his last day of school before summer break! Thank you, Kenan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I've tried this twice, once as written, and once just combining the sugar, cornstarch, and cherries and not cooking them before baking. BIG mistake. The liquid didn't gel at all, so I poured out the filling and cooked again! Delicious--just be sure and cook the filling before adding to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yum! I used approximately five cups of Oregon brand red tart cherries in water (drained before using, of course), ¾ c. sugar, and added 1 t. lemon juice, ¼ t. salt and a dash of cinnamon along with the butter. I baked it for 45 minutes and used the Ruth’s Grandma’s Pie Crust recipe from this site. I made this pie for my dad’s birthday and will be making it again for my fiancé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for a christmas dinner and am just now getting around to rating it. My dad compared this to his mother's pie...which he has been trying to recreate since her passing 20 years ago! Everyone said it was the best cherry pie they ever tasted. Will be keeping this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Photo by Amy Lyn
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great! I don't like cherry pie, but my husband and our friends loved this! They said it was the best they'd had! I used two 14 oz. cans of pitted tart cherries. I boiled the juice from the cans with the sugar and corn starch, then turned the heat down and mixed in the cherries (so they could heat up a bit) and butter and extract. It turned out perfectly! I did use a different pie crust recipe from this site, and it was flaky and light. I've never made a pie before, so this was really fun. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was so simple and SO good! We used fresh sour cherries from our neighbours tree and it was absolutely the best cherry pie I've ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I should note that I used my own crust recipe so this rating is strictly for the filling. Wow! Absolutely delicious! I made this at Thanksgiving, for those who are not big fans of pumpkin pie, and this was gone in a matter of minutes. It was expensive (I used canned pitted sour cherries, which were over $3.50 for each of the 3 jars I needed), but worth every penny when I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States