Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Just added more cherries and a little more almond extract. Delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I've never made a homemade cherry pie before and this was a hit! I could not find tart cherries and used Rainier cherries (they are yellow so I assumed they were sour, but they aren't!) so the pie looked more like peach pie in color. I used a generous cup of sugar and the sweetness was just right. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
This was okay, but i think less shortening would help with the crust. I also recommend just using 1 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
The best recipe I've used so far, good flavor & set up nicely. After reading most of the reviews I also changed the original recipe a tad. I used fresh picked cherries, 5 cups, to fill my pan, then adjusted from there by adding to the starch, almond extract (which I love in this pie) and used only 1/2 brown-1/4 white sugar since my cherries were sweet. Made the crust, easy to make (added a hint of almond ext) and tasted good. A great recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Fresh cherries from our tree. Best cherry pie recipe I have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was my first cherry pie and my husband said it's the best cherry pie he has ever eaten. I did use Pillsbury pie crust (sorry!) and followed the rest of the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
The crust was horribly bland. I reduced the sugar to half cup. It was too small of amount for a 9 inch pie plate so switched to 8 inch, and still there were not enough cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolalita
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
It's a great pie and recipe too. I did add a few things that probably shouldn't have, which is why my cherry sauce now is like jelly. Mistake #1. I used Maraschino cherries. #2. Too much cornstarch. #3. Did not wait to start boiling/cooking the cherries and sauce. #4. Crust is amazing (patted some pumpkin spice on the crust with my hands for flavor)...wait that's not a mistake...oops. #4. Somehow I thought adding 3 drops of lemon would bring out the tartness in the cherries. #5. Next time go to the store and buy the correct ingredients. Despite the cherry sauce jelly effect, everything else is delicious, so thanks for the recipe. Oh it definitely needs tons of cherries, not two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This review is just for the pastr. I've never had pastry fail so catastrophically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Baldridge
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My first completely from scratch pie, turned out delicious! Probably would pre bake the crust for about 5 minutes before adding the cherries and lattice top but great! I used 4 cups of cherries instead of 2 because of all the recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Baldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States