Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This recipe is superb. Since I didn't have the time to work with fresh cherries, both times I have made this I have used 2-3 cans of Oregon Fruit Products® pitted red tart cherries in water. Make sure you drain the cherries thoroughly. I also opted to use Pillsbury® refrigerated pie crust. The pie got rave reviews, and people were astonished that the cherries were canned and the pie crust was not homemade - that's how fresh this pie tasted. Last but not least, using the canned cherries and a ready-to-go pie crust made this recipe a snap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great pie! For everyone who said there are not enough cherries in this recipe, you're completely right. However Beth also put up this exact same recipe with a few changes (1/8 cup less sugar, .5 tea more cornstarch), called Cherry Pie IV. That recipe calls for 2 POUNDS pie cherries, not 2 cups. If you transfer the cups to pounds, you'll have a perfect pie. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is my favorite pie of all time! I made it for Thanksgiving and took some of the suggestions of others. I used 3 cans of Oregon Fruit tart cherries and drained them really well. I omitted the extract entirely. I used Pillsbury pie crust which made making these a snap. You really have to boil the filling or it won't thicken. This tends to mash up the cherries, so I might add the third can late in the cooking process to keep some of their shape. I can hardly wait to make this again! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Oh, boy. SO good. I did make some changes, but this recipe was my starting-off point. I used a cup of almond flour (available at health food stores & Trader Joe's - or just grind almonds with a little powdered sugar or cornstarch in order to get it as fine as you can). I always use half butter, half Crisco in my crusts. I doubled the filling, because I like a big fat pie. I cooked 3/4 of the cherries & juice, and stirred in the rest of the raw cherries afterward. I used a good Kirschwasser instead of almond extract because I realized I had run out of extract. Made a lattice crust. Served with lightly sweetened vanilla whipped cream. Gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This pie comes out awesome every time!! Two things I did different were let it simmer for 5 minutes, really makes it thick and such a nice deep red colour. Also since I don't have alot of counter space used Pilsbury crust, so brushed it with egg white mixed with sugar and apple pie spice. Made the crust shiny and added some flavor. But by itself this is one of the BEST pie recipes! Thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
This was my first attempt at making a pie from scratch, and it turned out very well! Easy to make. I used tart cherries, but 2 cups is not enough; use at least 3. TIP: when making the crust, roll it out on wax paper for easier handling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Excellent flavor, but I used 4 cups of cherries instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEERHUNTER713

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I used this recipe and it came out great. I made the following modifications... I used jarred morrello cherries from trader joes, and I used 1/4 cup tapioca in place of the cornstarch. It came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I made this pie for a family pie bake off and needless to say, I won! I made it again, using two whole cans of pitted sour cherries, a bit more cornstarch and added melted butter, sugar and cinnamon to the top. In-laws loved it for Christmas! This was my first pie ever and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Well, I made this last week with several changes - I didn't have much time, so I used a thawed generic frozen pie crust, and 2 cans of cherry pie filling (one regular, one 'lite'). I emptied the cherries into a dish, and mixed in 2 sachets of Splenda. Then I mixed in the almond extract. I have never used almond extract in a cherry pie recipe before, and I was delighted at the taste! Superb! I made a lattice top for the pie using some pastry that was sitting in the freezer doing nothing, and baked it for 45 mins. Perfect! However, because Husband said he liked this a lot but would prefer it with fresh bing cherries, I made it again. Not surprisingly, he preferred the fresh. I thought it just tasted fruity, not cherry-ish. Ah well. It was good whatever. Great recipe. Thanks so much, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States