Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
YUM YUM YUM!! I will use this recipe again and again. I love the flavor of the almond extract. Everyone who had a slice loved it....sure beats canned cherry pie filling (yuck).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I used 3 (14oz.) cans of tart cherries in water. Used 1 more tsp. of cornstarch and added vanilla instead of almond and a dash of cinnamon. The filling was to die for!! Pie looks fantastic and cannot wait to dig in. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The perfect cherry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was definitely delicious, but did not set up very well. Would have liked it to be less runny, don't know if I should have cooked it the day before so it had more time to set up or what. Made my own crust and used sweet cherries cuz I love them and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made my own crust recipe, but followed the filling recipe exactly. Used frozen dark bing cherries from Door County Wisconsin. Turned out great! Made it for Father's day and got good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
this was the first pie i've ever attempted! it was a smashing success! i followed the directions exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kijest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I gave this 4 stars only because the ingredients need to be altered, as said in other posts. I baked this last night and it was soooo yummy. However, 2 cups of cherries would not have been enough filling. I used 4 cups of fresh sweet pitted cherries, and only 1 cup of sugar with all the other filling ingredients remaining the same. The crust was delish! I thought I had a good pie crust, but this one beats it, hands down! Very flaky, even the bottom crust remained flaky with the gooey filling, which is sometimes a hard thing to pull off. Also, I was a little concerned about the crust when I first made it because it was so soft and sticky, so I added a good bit of flour to the pastry sheet I rolled it out on to prevent sticking. Came out perfect! I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Awesome! I halved the recipe for the crust and it still turned out great (used premade crust for the other one.) I did pit the cherries by hand, and mashed them a little in the sauce pan. While boiling them, it seemed to me that there was going to be too much juice to thicken up properly, so I drained off a little to use as ice cream sauce. After that, it thickened up very nicely, though only after boiling for quite some time - ten minutes or so? And then simmering a little more. It was a huge hit, great consistency, awesome taste and kept well for a few days! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Balaun
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
It was a good pie. I was hoping it would be THE best. I used 5 cups of frozen cherries with the last cup being added after the cooking process. Right before I covered the pie with the top crust, I added an additional T. of butter. I didn't use this crust recipe because I have a go to recipe that everyone says is the best they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is my go-to cherry pie recipe. I don't always make the crust, but this filling can't be beat. It always turns out with the best taste and consistency. I also make the filling by itself to use on mini cheesecakes or on top of ice cream. It is just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States