Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
What a GREAT tasting pie AND it was super easy. I took the advice of others and changed a few things. I used 3 cans of Oregon Fruit Cherries. I cooked 2 cans and folded in 1. I also used a Pilsbury Pie Crust and it turned out superb. This pie has great flavor. Next time I will NOT cook the cherries in sugar, but I will make a thick sauce from cornstarch, sugar and syrup from 1 cherry can. THEN, I will fold in the cherries and bake it. This will prevent the cherries from becoming mush after the stove top cooking process. I will make this again and hope for 5 stars. If you have fresh cherries as the recipe calls for, this will be picture perfect. I hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made a pie crust with my own recipe, but used this filling, and, following the directions, it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is such a great recipe! OMG!!! The crust came together quickly and beautifully, I just wasn't sure if there'd be enough dough for two crusts, but I did't have to worry. The filling was just sweet enough. I had rave reviews from my husband who called it "phenomenal" and said I HAD to make this again right away! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonsforlulu.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very yummy with the alterations that include two pints of cherries instead of two cups. I threw in a half cup of chocolate chips to make this a CHOCOLATE Cherry Pie -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AzhiaShalott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good pie! I used three 12oz packages frozen dark sweet cherries and reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. Added a little lemon juice and cinnamon to the filling and baked it in a refrigerated pie crust. After it cooled, it sliced very neatly and did not run. This was my first cherry pie and it won't be my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Followed exactly but came out much too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hurley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very easy! Used the filling and a store pie crust with a different topping. It was amazing. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I use this recipe every year when our pie cherry tree fills with cherries. I love the addition of almond extract and it always thickens up perfectly. I have never used the pie crust recipe though, since I always use my own. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Amazing. Best contrast of tart and sweet. I did take a shortcut on the crust, and used Trader Joe's frozen pie crust, but I will be attempting the crust next time. Even people who weren't into pie thought it was amazing, and that it hits the cherry pie flavor just right - not too sweet, not too sour. I did use the revised version of this recipe that has more cherries (2 lbs), less sugar, and a bit more cornstarch, which was according to the reviews of others. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States