Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My first pie that I ever made! It was fantastic and came out great! I used it along with thedouble pie crust recipie from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariel E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I don't actually eat cherry pie, but everyone said this was great. I used the frozen roll out pie crust and doubled the filling and used bing and tart cherries like several others suggested. I got distracted and forgot to add the butter and almond extract, but nobody seemed to notice. I'm sure I'll get requests to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delicious and so easy!! I made this pie with a roll out refrigerated pie crust. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was a delicious cherry pie! I added an 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg to mine, and about a tsp. of cinnamon as well, which made it so delicious! I also used Pastry for Double Pie-Crust from this site instead of the crust from this recipe. I cut out leaf and acorn shapes from the rolled pie crust, brushed them with water and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar, and laid these cutouts on top of the filling. Not only was it easier than rolling out the pie crust, it also looked beautiful! Everyone loved the pie; I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made this for thanksgiving and LOVED it. Easy recipe, and like previous reviews, I used canned cherries in water and tried one pie with frozen pie shells, and another with refrigerated (rolled) crusts, both pillsbury. The refrigerated crust pie came out better...crust was flaky and all together better. Also, used one whole crust to cover filling...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Best cherry pie ever! I followed others advise and made these substitutions: In place of the 2 cups sour cherries: 3 - 14.5 oz cans tart cherries 1 - 14.5 oz can sweet cherries In place of the white sugar: 1/2 c. granulated sugar 1/2 c. brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goldilocks19
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I fixed this pie for Thanksgiving, I could not find tart cherries, so I settled for frozen sweet cherries. I wanted to double the recipe but was about 1 cup short, so I added Craisins (dried Cranberries). Following the recipe, I poured the cherry mixture into the pie crust, and started to build my lattice crust. I should have waited until the mixture cooled, as it melted the shortening in the dough, and I had a hard time keeping it from stretching, so I would recommend to others who are doing the lattice crust, to wait until the filling is cool. Other than that, my pie got rave reviews from our guests. I will make this again in the future, it was very good, served with homemade whipped cream... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was the best cherry pie. My family loved it and my 4 yr old couldn't get enough. The only thing that I did different was use premade crust from Krogers, the rolled out kind, that was the only change and it was a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made a lot of changes that people suggested for the recipe, and it turned out very good. I have a sweet tooth so I used some sweet cherries along with the sour, but I think next time I will use even more (3 cans sweet, 1 sour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My first cherry pie, came out very well and was really easy. I used a different pie crust, but this filling and a little less sugar (1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cordelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States