Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is the best cherry pie ever. I mix fresh bing cherries (in season) and canned pie cherries together. People ask for this pie all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Just made this pie and it is AMAZING , thank you, I did use 4 cups cherries (frozen) and added an extra tsp of cornstarch...Will make this again and again, thanks for the great addition to my recipe box..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Every one loved this pie! I made a few changes and used canned country style cherries and put them in a saucepan on medium heat and added a bit of cornstarch. This thickened the sauce a little more, and it turned out great. I also added the almond extract, which was awesome. Everyone was wondering what the little extra was! Didn't use the crust recipe, because I have my own that turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The cherry pie filling is superb! It is not overly sweet and the thickness is just right. I will be sticking to this part of the recipe when making other cherry desserts such as crisps, cobblers, and serving it as a topping. As I am not very good with making my own crust/dough, I opted to use store bought stuff this time but perhaps I will try to go the extra step next time around. Similar to the previous reviewer, my first attempt at making a pie crust from this recipe was a bit lacklustre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was my first attempt at baking a pie from scratch. It came out tasting delicious. I have to say that I found making the pie crust super difficult, but I think that is a consequence of my inexperience with pie crusts, not the recipe. Other than the crust, making the filling was easy. I used three 14 ounce cans of tart pitted cherries and that was the appropriate amount. I then made a lattice top for the pie. The flavor of this pie was great and it looked just like a pie you would buy from a baker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very delicious. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was my first cherry pie ever, and it turned out great. I followed other reviewers suggestions and doubled the cherries. Also, I used this pie crust rather than my normal butter pie crust. It was a little more difficult to work with, but it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Bean
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good, for my taste a little bit too sweet, but that is just me, delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Great recipe and easy, but like others, I found the filling to be a tad too sweet. My suggestion for others is to try it with a little less than one cup, maybe 3/4 cup and then increase it from there to your tastes. 1 1/2 cups sugar is just too much for most people. Other than that, perfect! Oh, and if you are like me and found your cherry filling to be a little drab looking, add a little red food coloring and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was terrific. Following other reviewers' recommendations, I doubled the amount of cherries called for in the recipe for a total of four cups. I kept the amounts of sugar, cornstarch, butter, and almond extract the same, though, and for my tastes, the filling still might've still been a little too sweet—next time I'll only use 1 cup of sugar. I also added one cup of ground toasted almonds to the flour and salt when I made the crust. I garnished the pie with toasted sliced almonds and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States