Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very delicious. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was my first cherry pie ever, and it turned out great. I followed other reviewers suggestions and doubled the cherries. Also, I used this pie crust rather than my normal butter pie crust. It was a little more difficult to work with, but it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Bean
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good, for my taste a little bit too sweet, but that is just me, delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Great recipe and easy, but like others, I found the filling to be a tad too sweet. My suggestion for others is to try it with a little less than one cup, maybe 3/4 cup and then increase it from there to your tastes. 1 1/2 cups sugar is just too much for most people. Other than that, perfect! Oh, and if you are like me and found your cherry filling to be a little drab looking, add a little red food coloring and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was terrific. Following other reviewers' recommendations, I doubled the amount of cherries called for in the recipe for a total of four cups. I kept the amounts of sugar, cornstarch, butter, and almond extract the same, though, and for my tastes, the filling still might've still been a little too sweet—next time I'll only use 1 cup of sugar. I also added one cup of ground toasted almonds to the flour and salt when I made the crust. I garnished the pie with toasted sliced almonds and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This recipe was awesome. My first attempt ever to make a pie from scratch! I live in the cherry capitol Traverse City so fresh cherries are no problem. I didn't have any shortning so I just used butter. I added some crushed almonds to the crust as well, instead of cold water I used the chilled cherry juice that was in the bag of cherries. I ended up using 3 cups of cherries and could have put 1 more in. I finished the crust off with a sprinkle of sugar. I loved the almond extract addition also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not very good. But I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used Bing cherries bcz thats all I had. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It was too sweet for me and I just didnt like the flavor of the cherries. I usually love cherry pies bought at the store, but this was no where near as tasty. I dont know if I would try this again, but if I did I would use a lot less sugar (maybe half cup total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a good pie. But here's a heads-up for those using fresh cherries other than sour ones. I used a mixture of pitted fresh Bing and Ranier cherries. Even though I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup, it was still sickenly sweet. I would recommend using 1/4 - 1/3 cup sugar if using non-sour cherries. Also, 2 cups of cherries wouldn't have been enough to fill a 9" store-bought deep dish pie shell, but 4 cups was perfect. Baked for 40 min. Other than the sweetness, it was good with a nice almond flavor. My family liked it, though they agreed it was a little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This pie filling was EASY to do. I used regular cherries right off the tree (not bing) so you can use any cherry. I followed the instructions for the filling and it tasted GREAT! I did however cheat and put the cherry pie filling into pre made tart shells. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COASTALSTORM25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I increased the cherries to 4Cs. This pie is very good and easy to make. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States