Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very delicious. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was my first cherry pie ever, and it turned out great. I followed other reviewers suggestions and doubled the cherries. Also, I used this pie crust rather than my normal butter pie crust. It was a little more difficult to work with, but it came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Bean
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good, for my taste a little bit too sweet, but that is just me, delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Great recipe and easy, but like others, I found the filling to be a tad too sweet. My suggestion for others is to try it with a little less than one cup, maybe 3/4 cup and then increase it from there to your tastes. 1 1/2 cups sugar is just too much for most people. Other than that, perfect! Oh, and if you are like me and found your cherry filling to be a little drab looking, add a little red food coloring and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was terrific. Following other reviewers' recommendations, I doubled the amount of cherries called for in the recipe for a total of four cups. I kept the amounts of sugar, cornstarch, butter, and almond extract the same, though, and for my tastes, the filling still might've still been a little too sweet—next time I'll only use 1 cup of sugar. I also added one cup of ground toasted almonds to the flour and salt when I made the crust. I garnished the pie with toasted sliced almonds and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This recipe was awesome. My first attempt ever to make a pie from scratch! I live in the cherry capitol Traverse City so fresh cherries are no problem. I didn't have any shortning so I just used butter. I added some crushed almonds to the crust as well, instead of cold water I used the chilled cherry juice that was in the bag of cherries. I ended up using 3 cups of cherries and could have put 1 more in. I finished the crust off with a sprinkle of sugar. I loved the almond extract addition also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not very good. But I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used Bing cherries bcz thats all I had. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It was too sweet for me and I just didnt like the flavor of the cherries. I usually love cherry pies bought at the store, but this was no where near as tasty. I dont know if I would try this again, but if I did I would use a lot less sugar (maybe half cup total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a good pie. But here's a heads-up for those using fresh cherries other than sour ones. I used a mixture of pitted fresh Bing and Ranier cherries. Even though I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup, it was still sickenly sweet. I would recommend using 1/4 - 1/3 cup sugar if using non-sour cherries. Also, 2 cups of cherries wouldn't have been enough to fill a 9" store-bought deep dish pie shell, but 4 cups was perfect. Baked for 40 min. Other than the sweetness, it was good with a nice almond flavor. My family liked it, though they agreed it was a little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This pie filling was EASY to do. I used regular cherries right off the tree (not bing) so you can use any cherry. I followed the instructions for the filling and it tasted GREAT! I did however cheat and put the cherry pie filling into pre made tart shells. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COASTALSTORM25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I increased the cherries to 4Cs. This pie is very good and easy to make. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States