Cherry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I wanted to make something different for Thanksgiving, other than my traditional Pumpkin, Apple and Pecan Pies, so after researching recipes, decided on this one. I read a lot of the reviews, and boy were they helpful. I used 3 cans of Oregon Sour cherries, and could have used one more probably...accidentally put in a tablespoon more cornstarch and my 5 year old added a tablespoon more butter, lol, she likes butter...and it turned out fabulous!! I confess, I used a Publix crust, have ZERO counterspace for rolling anything out, lol...For my first from scratch (mostly) Cherry pie, it was a big hit, the first dessert (from a whole bunch) gone, and I had a dozen requests for the recipe! This recipe is foolproof, and is going in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Loved this! Got the compliment that it was the best cherry pie they ever tasted. Do increase the cherries to about 4 cups and increase the almond to 1tsp. Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving - it was the first to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlandville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This should be two pounds of cherries, not two cups. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very yummy but you definitely need more cherries! I added 5 cups instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is the best cherry pie ever. I mix fresh bing cherries (in season) and canned pie cherries together. People ask for this pie all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Just made this pie and it is AMAZING , thank you, I did use 4 cups cherries (frozen) and added an extra tsp of cornstarch...Will make this again and again, thanks for the great addition to my recipe box..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Every one loved this pie! I made a few changes and used canned country style cherries and put them in a saucepan on medium heat and added a bit of cornstarch. This thickened the sauce a little more, and it turned out great. I also added the almond extract, which was awesome. Everyone was wondering what the little extra was! Didn't use the crust recipe, because I have my own that turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The cherry pie filling is superb! It is not overly sweet and the thickness is just right. I will be sticking to this part of the recipe when making other cherry desserts such as crisps, cobblers, and serving it as a topping. As I am not very good with making my own crust/dough, I opted to use store bought stuff this time but perhaps I will try to go the extra step next time around. Similar to the previous reviewer, my first attempt at making a pie crust from this recipe was a bit lacklustre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was my first attempt at baking a pie from scratch. It came out tasting delicious. I have to say that I found making the pie crust super difficult, but I think that is a consequence of my inexperience with pie crusts, not the recipe. Other than the crust, making the filling was easy. I used three 14 ounce cans of tart pitted cherries and that was the appropriate amount. I then made a lattice top for the pie. The flavor of this pie was great and it looked just like a pie you would buy from a baker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States