Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
this turned out remarkably well. Easily the best fruit pie I've made yet! My husband even said it was Thanksgiving-quality, and that means a lot to me, if not to you as well. I modified the flour to 1/4 cup and used Rainier cherries instead of sour cherries. I did have to mash about half of them to get enough juice to mix with the dry ingredients. I used the 9" frozen Pillsbury crust, since they're sold in packages of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have not made this pie but I read the recipe and the ingredients call for a 9" pie crust recipe. Where does the extra crust come from for the top of the pie. I think this recipe needs to be revised. Someone may buy a 9" pie crust and forget about the top crust and then get half way through the recipe and discover they don't have crust for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I LOVE this pie! It's so easy and so delicious. Pitting the cherries was actually really fun, and I knew exactly what I was putting into my pie. My 3-year-old helped w/the lattice crust (we used a second pie crust for this -- the refrigerated variety). Delicious and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This pie was so good..I did use 1/4 cup of flour and splenda for the sugar...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mcdonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was the first time I made cherry pie and I thought it was delicious! I followed a couple of suggestions---1/2 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup flour, and added almond extract. I thought that the result was great---definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent Cherry Pie! I'm not sure I prefer the taste of the pie with flour but as far as consistency goes it was right on. I have to add that I added about 3 tbs. of cornstarch mixture to mine. I also added 1/4 tsp. of almond extract, a few drops of red food coloring, and 1 tbs. lemon juice. I do like tart/sour things so to me that was perfect. I used Ruth's Grandma's crust recipe from this site for my pie crust. Thank you for sharing Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is one of the most amazing pies I've ever tried! It allowed me to create something easy and fast, but with tons of flavor and awesomeness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This came out great! I used sweet cherries instead of sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
The first pie I have ever made and it was great. I am new to cooking and it was so easy. I upped the flour previously mentioned as well as the sugar. I will definitely pass this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I greatly preferred the light fresh-cherry filling of this pie to the heavier, syrupy pies I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States