Cherry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Yummy and easy except for pitting the cherries. I reduced the sugar by 25% and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! Everyone that has it loves how tart it is. Instead of the wafer crust I use a pie crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
OMG, what a great pie!! It was SO delish. I brought some pieces into work and everyone raved about it!! And it was fairly simple to make. I didn't use as much sugar as the recipe called for so as not to overpower the flavor and taste of the tart cherries. My son and I picked the cherries and I made two pies, using two different recipes: one with regular crust and one with this crust. This crust did not become soggy even after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this with a chocolate crust and it is AWESOME!!!! Topped it off with a little whipped cream - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Super great taste, so the 4 sars are only because of my own fault...this is the first cherry pie I've tried making, and, well, I should not have tried to improvise. Here's what NOT to do: don't use a graham cracker crust, it absorbed all of the gelatin mixture and became mushy. And speaking of the gelatin mixture--don't use regular jello; I guess plain gelatin sets up differently, huh? And/or, I didn't let this cool enough before pouring it over the cherries in the shell. Any-who, it still came out tasting great, and I'm going to have to make this again (following the recipe EXACTLY!), so that I can update my rating to a 5-star. At least it was only an "experiment" on my family, and not for guests :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was a very nice, refreshing change from the usual double crust, warm cherry pie. The wafer crust really hits the spot and the pie overall looks lovely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I had four cups of fresh cherries which needed to be used on this 95 degree summer day. This no-bake recipe was perfect for keeping the kitchen cool and really tasty in addition. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This is very close to what my husbands grandmother used to make 50+ years ago. The recipe was lost(by me) several years ago. I would use less sugar(3/4c) and mix the cornstarch into the lemon juice so it doesn't lump when added to the cherry mixture. The original recipe called for a whipped cream topping. Will use again for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I LOVE cherries but my husband does not. Believe it or not he ate 2 pieces! Thanks for a great keeper! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States