Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made these as per the recipe and really enjoyed them. The cherry flavor is not very strong, but that was fine with me. I think next time I will use brown sugar instead of white sugar and add a little almond extract just to see, but I enjoyed this. I really liked the texture with the oatmeal and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I just made these.The 4 star rating attracted me.Thankfully,I made a tray of 8 cookies,"just to try." They were so bland,despite my adding extra cherry juice and almond extract.They probably could use some brown sugar in place of all white sugar.I'm going to try and salvage the rest of the batter and add some coconut and chocolate chips to the batter.I'm not sure why anyone would call these cookies chewy.They're actually quite dry.We'll see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Nice and soft. I like to dust these with powdered sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These were easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
After reading other reviews I decided to make some changes of my own. I cut the shortening to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce. I cut the vanilla in half and substituted almond extract. I also used 1-1/2 Tbsp cherry juice and pecans instead of walnuts. After I had everything mixed I added a little extra flour to make up for the added wet ingredients. Baked per recipe and I must say they turned out very moist and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I thought these were good cookies with a nice texture. I added extra cherry juice per the suggestions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Try using almond extract instead of vanilla for more "cherry" flavor. Good texture cookie. I added cherry icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Like others, found first try bland, used dried cherries and cherry cider in place of marachino cherries... also used other suggestion here of cutting some of the butter with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The coookies looked beautiful, plump with a very nice texture...but the taste was bland. I even added more cherry juice, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Maybe if some brown sugar was used. I don't know, probably wont try them again to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I thought these were pretty good. I added more cherries and some mini chocolate chips because they were a little bland at first. I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States