Cherry Nut Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
My mom used to make this years ago and I always loved it. I still have her hand-written recipe but it is quite faded and worn. I wanted to make this again and thought I'd search for it online to see if anyone else had this delicious recipe. Lo and behold, here it is! I only have one suggestion... Although it calls for one cup of walnuts, I would recommend using 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup of finely chopped. There is a difference. If you take a half-cup of whole walnuts and chop them finely, you will get quite a bit less than if you use a half-cup of already finely chopped. My mouth is watering just thinking about this dessert. It is nutty, buttery, crunchy, sweet and absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdjuCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Delicious! Changes I made: 8 x 8 glass pan; almond meal/flour (Bob's Red Mill) in place of all-purpose flour; half walnuts/half pecans (ran out of walnuts); 2 cups pitted fresh cherries (well, fresh-picked, frozen, defrosted in fridge). Can't stop eating it! Excited to take it to a potluck soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this for my husband and we both loved it. I am not one for canned cherry pie filling, but this changed my mind. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The crust amount needs to be doubled in order to cover the bottom of the pan, and sprinkle on top. I also doubled the cream cheese portion. Very good flavor with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was very tasty. I used pecans instead because I do not care for walnuts too much. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Yummy! I used raspberry pie filling instead and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Davenport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is an outstanding recipe! I will be making this dessert for Easter and I know I'll have to double/triple the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This is definitely a keeper. I doubled the cream cheese mixture so the filling would be thicker. They taste like cheesecake. I might try another topping next time as well, but then again, I might not. I love cherries on cheesecake... so why change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Another KEEPER, I made it in a 7x12 pan and the bottom crust was just fine. I will do as one other person said and use blueberries for topping, just for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is fantastic! I made in in a 9X9 pan. I think a 9X13 might thin it out too much. We ate it warm and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States