Cherry Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this for a cookie exchange and was pleased how easily they went together. Unfortunatly they never cooked properly and ended up as mush after baking an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good , used two cups of cracker crumbs though and half the ch chips turned out really tasty . will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made these with real cherries and loved them! My whole family raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These tasted good, but they were oh so messy. It was very difficult to cut them and it ended up looking awful. But we still enjoyed the flavors- definitely very sweet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
this may have turned out badly for me because i inadvertently skipped over the step of patting the cherries dry with a towel. but, i ended up with a very soggy, goopy mess that would not stay in bar form. (this was after taking everyone's advice to pour the milk over the entire dish, not just the crust.) i also found this to be much too sweet. however, that also could be partially my fault because i substituted white chocolate chips for the semi-sweet. overall though, i wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love these so much that now when I make magic cookie bars, I do half the pan with cherry and half regular! Nice change since there is just two of us in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim & B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. One of the best seasonal cookies I've ever had. I swear to you. I used extra dark chocolate chips and cinnamon grahams. In. Sane. This is going to be dangerous. NOTE: I did take a couple of the other reviewers advice and increased the graham crackers to 3 cups and I poured the condensed milk at the last, over the whole pan. I think that really made the most of this recipe. I think had I not done that, they would not have been as good. As a seasoned "magic cookie bar" maker, I do not recommend using an off-brand of sweetened condensed milk. I think this would be good with chocolate grahams, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe...I checked out some of the other reviews and took their advise. I used 3 cups of graham crumbs, put half of the condensed milk on it, added the other ingredients and then poured the remainder of the milk over top of everything. I chilled it before cutting and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Pretty good. I made twice. The second the time I used chopped dried cherries instead of the maraschino cherries, they added a nice balance of real cherry flavor and a hint of tartness to the rich sweetness. I also found pouring the sweetened condensed milk over the whole thing, and they held together better. Also found using an 8x8 pan delivers a thicker more substantial cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States