Cherry Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
OMG! These are sooo good! I have a real fondness for most magic cookie bars, because I love the combo of the graham crackers, butter, coconut and sweetened condensed milk, and these bars are no exception! The only change I made was to pour on the SC milk AFTER layering all of the other ingredients, rather than before. The milk acts as a binder, so when you cut the bars, they hold together well. Delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
These were delicous and so easy to make. My kids could not get enough. My only change would be to chop the cherries a little bigger the next time I make them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made these twice and both times they tasted wonderful but I did have trouble with the bars falling apart the first time. I used a generic sweetened condenced milk the first time. Using Eagle brand did make a difference and I let them cook an extra minute. I think next time I will make them more in advance and chill them so they cut cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are fantastic - a new Christmas favorite for us! I used about 1/2 of the sweetened condensed milk on the crust and reserved the rest to pour over the other toppings to help them stick together better - I hate cookies and bars that crumble all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. One of the best seasonal cookies I've ever had. I swear to you. I used extra dark chocolate chips and cinnamon grahams. In. Sane. This is going to be dangerous. NOTE: I did take a couple of the other reviewers advice and increased the graham crackers to 3 cups and I poured the condensed milk at the last, over the whole pan. I think that really made the most of this recipe. I think had I not done that, they would not have been as good. As a seasoned "magic cookie bar" maker, I do not recommend using an off-brand of sweetened condensed milk. I think this would be good with chocolate grahams, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Pretty good. I made twice. The second the time I used chopped dried cherries instead of the maraschino cherries, they added a nice balance of real cherry flavor and a hint of tartness to the rich sweetness. I also found pouring the sweetened condensed milk over the whole thing, and they held together better. Also found using an 8x8 pan delivers a thicker more substantial cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
they were very thin. maybe double the recipe and still put in 9x13?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Yum. These will really look festive during the holidays with red and green cherries. To the others who have reviewed this recipe, thanks for the helpful suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Anything you drwon in sweeten milk will taste good. But the cookies fall apart and are hard to eat. The gram craker crust need to be thicker. Probably double what it calls for. And it's missing texture. Prob chopped pistachios would help to finish up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was very very good. I don't think they'll store for as long as the original Magic Bars as they are a little more moist but I haven't been able to test out this theory as they are gone within hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States