Cherry Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Anything you drwon in sweeten milk will taste good. But the cookies fall apart and are hard to eat. The gram craker crust need to be thicker. Probably double what it calls for. And it's missing texture. Prob chopped pistachios would help to finish up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Whats not to like? Cherries, chocolate, coconut, grahams...all the food groups!!! Seriously, I've been making the standard magic bars for years (narry a complaint) and these are just a natural modification. The only changes I made are: 2 cups of grahams (I like a slightly thicker crust), half of the can of sc milk is reserved for the final topping, and I use approx. 14 oz of cherries...I have never had them last more than 48 hrs, as nobody can seem to eat just one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My husband said it had a funny taste to it. I didn't think it was that bad, but won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheboygan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
We love magic cookie bars and the addition of Cherries made it even better. My husband doesn't like cherries so I left half without cherries but i thought it made the bars better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Tasted ok but way to messy to eat would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Yum. These will really look festive during the holidays with red and green cherries. To the others who have reviewed this recipe, thanks for the helpful suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made these twice and both times they tasted wonderful but I did have trouble with the bars falling apart the first time. I used a generic sweetened condenced milk the first time. Using Eagle brand did make a difference and I let them cook an extra minute. I think next time I will make them more in advance and chill them so they cut cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I just thought these were OK. They were too thin and didn't hold their own weight very well. We had to eat them from a bowl with a spoon. Not sure if I will try these again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are fantastic - a new Christmas favorite for us! I used about 1/2 of the sweetened condensed milk on the crust and reserved the rest to pour over the other toppings to help them stick together better - I hate cookies and bars that crumble all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
OMG! These are sooo good! I have a real fondness for most magic cookie bars, because I love the combo of the graham crackers, butter, coconut and sweetened condensed milk, and these bars are no exception! The only change I made was to pour on the SC milk AFTER layering all of the other ingredients, rather than before. The milk acts as a binder, so when you cut the bars, they hold together well. Delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States