Cherry Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this for a cookie exchange and was pleased how easily they went together. Unfortunatly they never cooked properly and ended up as mush after baking an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good , used two cups of cracker crumbs though and half the ch chips turned out really tasty . will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made these with real cherries and loved them! My whole family raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These tasted good, but they were oh so messy. It was very difficult to cut them and it ended up looking awful. But we still enjoyed the flavors- definitely very sweet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
this may have turned out badly for me because i inadvertently skipped over the step of patting the cherries dry with a towel. but, i ended up with a very soggy, goopy mess that would not stay in bar form. (this was after taking everyone's advice to pour the milk over the entire dish, not just the crust.) i also found this to be much too sweet. however, that also could be partially my fault because i substituted white chocolate chips for the semi-sweet. overall though, i wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love these so much that now when I make magic cookie bars, I do half the pan with cherry and half regular! Nice change since there is just two of us in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim & B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. One of the best seasonal cookies I've ever had. I swear to you. I used extra dark chocolate chips and cinnamon grahams. In. Sane. This is going to be dangerous. NOTE: I did take a couple of the other reviewers advice and increased the graham crackers to 3 cups and I poured the condensed milk at the last, over the whole pan. I think that really made the most of this recipe. I think had I not done that, they would not have been as good. As a seasoned "magic cookie bar" maker, I do not recommend using an off-brand of sweetened condensed milk. I think this would be good with chocolate grahams, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe...I checked out some of the other reviews and took their advise. I used 3 cups of graham crumbs, put half of the condensed milk on it, added the other ingredients and then poured the remainder of the milk over top of everything. I chilled it before cutting and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Pretty good. I made twice. The second the time I used chopped dried cherries instead of the maraschino cherries, they added a nice balance of real cherry flavor and a hint of tartness to the rich sweetness. I also found pouring the sweetened condensed milk over the whole thing, and they held together better. Also found using an 8x8 pan delivers a thicker more substantial cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States