Cherry Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I love these cookies! I added almond extract because that is how our local bakery makes them and I like the flavor. My family thinks they are a little dry but I think they are perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Burned. Had to adjust temperature to 375 and they still did not turn out. So bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hancock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyVintageMommy
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
not very good, not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I absolutely love cherries, so I had to try this recipe, and they came out so delicious! I did change a few things though: I reduced the amount of flour to 2 1/4 cup (dough was not as crumbly), and since I didn't have a lemon for zest, I used 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. I also added a drop of red food coloring to the cookie dough to turn them pink. I only chilled the dough for about 2hrs, rolled them into balls and covered them in the red sugar and baked them for 8min. My fiancee loved them and he's not really a cherry person. I think these are going into my tins at Christmas!! Thank you so much for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitsune

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
this recipe was ok. i love cherries and thought i would love this cookie but it lacked in flavor. i decided to cut in in half cause i only had 1 jar of cherries, when i got to the egg i was confused cause you cant cut an egg in half so i used the whole egg.. not sure if that had anything to do with the lack of flavor in the cookie.. i made a drizzle with almond extract, powdered sugar, and milk and drizzled on top of the cookie for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Henecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I really liked these! I used only 1 cup of pecans and halved the cherries instead of chopping them. I wanted to bite into a big cherry chunk. Yes, this dough is really crumbly and difficult to work with. I made the dough in the morning before work and baked them when I got home later that evening. I didn't roll into logs because I found it cumbersome. I just used a spoon and rolled the dough into small balls and then pressed down with a fork. I ended up baking them for a total of 12 minutes (bake 6 minutes, turn tray around, bake another 6 minutes). Oh and I did throw in some lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made them just as specified and mine didn't look pretty enough for a Xmas cookie exchange. I'm a cherry lover, they tasted good, but I'd make these for only 'home' use and not for giveaways or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindabg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
sorry, just had too much difficulty with these cookies. followed the recipe to the T, but found the dough too messy to work with. The final product was disappointingly flat in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I coule taste the shortening,not at all what i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States