Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was fantastic! Like some of the other reviewers, I couldn't find cherry concentrate so I used cherry syrup instead. Also added in a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips the last five minutes it was in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is excellent! The only change I made was to add some semi-sweet chocolate (1 bar--3.5 oz., chopped) and added it the final 5 minutes of the churning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! It tastes like Cherry Garcia, without the chocolate. Will try it with chocolate chunks next time. Took slightly longer to freeze in my ice cream maker, don't know if it was the yogurt, or if I didn't leave my freezer bowl in the freezer long enough. Either way, it was still great! Also, couldn't find cherry concentrate, so I used grenadine, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
OK, I wrote this recipe, but I have to add a comment--BE SURE TO USE CHERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE. This is not cherry juice, and not frozen concentrate. Rather, it is more like cherry syrup. It is in my grocery store in the produce section, near several varieties of specialty/organic juices. The kind I buy is made by Brownwood acres, but there are other brands out there (and I have seen blueberry and pomegranet concentrate as well--I may have to do more experimenting!!). Tart cherry concentrate is advertised for joint pain--I don't know about that, but it tastes great, and is super-sour and full of flavor and color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Simple, tasty and a great treat on a warm evening. I could not find the concentrate so I simmered and reduced a pint of cherry juice to the required 1/4 cup. I also threw in about a half a cup of dark chocolate shavings. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
this was very yummy. i used a maraschino syrup found in the alcohol mixer section of the grocery store, and i thought i came out fantastic. made extactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very tasty! My company enjoyed it a lot! I did make a few changes found in the reviews. I only used 1/2t of almond extract instead of 2t. Used Half and Half instead of the yogurt, and added half of a large semi sweet dark chocolate bar chopped into small pieces. Granted the texture isn't Ben & Jerry's but the flavor is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
YUM! This is delicious. Tastes like fresh cherries, not artificial at all. Couldn't find cherry juice concentrate in any grocery store. Google search found it at GNC. The juice is a little pricey for 16 oz. but I know I will be making this again soon so it is worth th $.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have made this ice cream twice using pomegranate syrup. If you can not find the syrup yourself, get one cup to a cup and a half of 100% juice and boil down to the 1/4 cup needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I've been making ice cream for many years and this is the absolutely best recipe I've ever tried. Couldn't find the cherry juice concentrate so I used grenadine (as another reviewer suggested). I used Stoneybrook farms organic french vanilla yogurt and added some mini chocolate chips during the last 5 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly and we had the most flavorful creamy ice cream I've ever made. My guests thought it was Ben & Jerry's or Haagen Das!!!!!! They were shocked when I told them it was home-made. It was just as good the next day... no ice crystals. I'm looking forward to experimenting with this same base recipe but different fruits... will try peach as soon as they come in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States