Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
OK, I wrote this recipe, but I have to add a comment--BE SURE TO USE CHERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE. This is not cherry juice, and not frozen concentrate. Rather, it is more like cherry syrup. It is in my grocery store in the produce section, near several varieties of specialty/organic juices. The kind I buy is made by Brownwood acres, but there are other brands out there (and I have seen blueberry and pomegranet concentrate as well--I may have to do more experimenting!!). Tart cherry concentrate is advertised for joint pain--I don't know about that, but it tastes great, and is super-sour and full of flavor and color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
excellent cherry ice cream, i'm eating it now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
FABULOUS! The smoothest, creamiest ice cream ever. We used frozen, bing cherries, but we couldn't find the cherry concentrate, so, we used cherry syrup. Stays soft even after freezing "the day after"... wow Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delicious! The only thing I would change is to double the recipe! It doesn't last long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was really easy to make and very good. My only complaint was the yogurt made it taste more like yogurt and less like ice cream. I think if I were going to make again I would take out the yogurt and add the 1/2 in heavy cream. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Nice texture, outstanding cherry flavor. I agree w/ another reviewer about the yogurt flavor- next time I will sub 3/4 cup half and half for the yogurt. Also, I did not add the full amount of almond extract- too fake of a flavor in my opinion. And I added 2/3 cup bittersweet chocolate chips- tastes even better then my favorite name brand cherry/chocolate ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Good recipe! - I love cherries, and if you do too, you'll like this recipe for cherry ice cream. I followed the recipe exactly, except with these modifications: instead of 1 cup yogurt, I used 1/2 cup yogurt and 1/2 cup of half & half - still has a bit of yogurt taste, but tastes fine to me; also instead of 1/2 cup of sugar, I used only 1/3 cup of sugar - still tastes fine; and instead of 2 tsp of almond extract, I only used 1/2 tsp of instead. (Also, to be technical, instead of fat-free milk, I used 1%.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is excellent! The only change I made was to add some semi-sweet chocolate (1 bar--3.5 oz., chopped) and added it the final 5 minutes of the churning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! It tastes like Cherry Garcia, without the chocolate. Will try it with chocolate chunks next time. Took slightly longer to freeze in my ice cream maker, don't know if it was the yogurt, or if I didn't leave my freezer bowl in the freezer long enough. Either way, it was still great! Also, couldn't find cherry concentrate, so I used grenadine, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was fantastic! Like some of the other reviewers, I couldn't find cherry concentrate so I used cherry syrup instead. Also added in a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips the last five minutes it was in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States