Cherry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was the first recipe I tried in my new ice cream maker! It came out good. I made some substitutions to make it semi-lowfat. I used sugar substitute, fat free milk with butter instead of heavy cream (I didn't have any) and fat free greek yogurt. I used fresh cherries and boiled down cherry juice to a quarter cup. Then I used my immersion blender to mix it all up before pouring it into the ice cream maker. I kept some big chunks of cherries in there. It turns a pretty pink color and was not quite as creamy as ice cream, but with my substitutions I didn't expect it to be. I added chocolate chips based on others suggestions, but it didn't need them at all. This has an excellent flavor as is. Good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was ok. I like mine with more realy cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Wow, this has great flavor. Didn't have any yogurt so I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Odd blend of flavors, but it is creamy as promised. I believe the yogurt plays a good part in that - do not leave it out! For the life of me, I could not find cherry concentrate ANYWHERE in the grocery store. So, that wasted a good part of my time. Ended up just using "juice w/concentrate". I also wasn't willing to buy almond extract - so I used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Simple, tasty and a great treat on a warm evening. I could not find the concentrate so I simmered and reduced a pint of cherry juice to the required 1/4 cup. I also threw in about a half a cup of dark chocolate shavings. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I've been making ice cream for many years and this is the absolutely best recipe I've ever tried. Couldn't find the cherry juice concentrate so I used grenadine (as another reviewer suggested). I used Stoneybrook farms organic french vanilla yogurt and added some mini chocolate chips during the last 5 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly and we had the most flavorful creamy ice cream I've ever made. My guests thought it was Ben & Jerry's or Haagen Das!!!!!! They were shocked when I told them it was home-made. It was just as good the next day... no ice crystals. I'm looking forward to experimenting with this same base recipe but different fruits... will try peach as soon as they come in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have made this ice cream twice using pomegranate syrup. If you can not find the syrup yourself, get one cup to a cup and a half of 100% juice and boil down to the 1/4 cup needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
YUM! This is delicious. Tastes like fresh cherries, not artificial at all. Couldn't find cherry juice concentrate in any grocery store. Google search found it at GNC. The juice is a little pricey for 16 oz. but I know I will be making this again soon so it is worth th $.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very tasty! My company enjoyed it a lot! I did make a few changes found in the reviews. I only used 1/2t of almond extract instead of 2t. Used Half and Half instead of the yogurt, and added half of a large semi sweet dark chocolate bar chopped into small pieces. Granted the texture isn't Ben & Jerry's but the flavor is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
this was very yummy. i used a maraschino syrup found in the alcohol mixer section of the grocery store, and i thought i came out fantastic. made extactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States