Cherry Ham Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Fabulous. I sliced my (fully cooked) ham, staggered the slices in my crock pot, poured the glaze over it, and cooked it on low for about 4 hours. The ham was PERFECT - tender, flavorful, sweet without being overpowering. Our dinner guests gave it rave reviews - I didn't tell them how simple it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My husband and mother-in-law both said this was the best ham they'd ever tasted. The jar of preserves I bought was 17.5 oz, so I did 1.5 times everything (except the spices--doubled those). For a 14 pound ham, next time I would double the amount of glaze. Used 1 cup to baste the ham during the last hour, then mixed 4 cups of drippings with the remaining glaze and 2 tablespoons of flour. Served as a gravy on the side. They couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for a progressive dinner. It was a hit!! My husband does not like cherries, but ate it unknowingly. Later he admitted it was the best ham he ever had and requested it for Christmas dinner. I added about a half cup of brown sugar to the glaze to thicken it after it cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Oddly enough, I used the basic recipe to make a ham dipping sauce. I had to cook it down for a while to get it to thicken, and also added some lemon juice at the finish. Works really well for dipping, it was the most popular one I made for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe is one of my family's favorites. It started as my Gram's and was passed down to her seven children, and now I'm cooking the same cherry-glazed ham for my roommates in college. College kids are generally hungry, but in one meal, the whole thing was GONE. They don't call me Mama Corey for nothing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellsworth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A definite keeper! I once bought a ham w/ a packet of cherry glaze,; while it was very good, it wasn't nearly as good as this glaze. I think it's the actual cherries that make the difference This is going to be a Christmas staple in my family for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This glaze is divine! I will NEVER use any jarred or packaged glazes again! This is delicious as is or even with pineapple preserves or changing it up with different kinds so it can be very versatile recipe. Cherry preserves is still my favorite kind to use! This dresses up even the cheapest hams and make them taste so expensive! I've had people ask me for this recipe many many times! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Complex<3Creation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Made a ham shank with this glaze and it was FANTASTIC. Everyone raved about it and the leftovers flew out of the fridge. I cooked the ham, cooled it, sliced it, and put it in the crock pot with the remaining glaze (after glazing the ham) to serve hot. Used the drippings from the ham to make soup, so don't know how the glaze would be mixed with the drippings, but would definitely try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My family and I were tired of the same old ham. I found this website with the 'Cherry Ham Glaze" and it was a big hit. I did not add all the ham drippings to the left over sauce because we like the glaze thickened to put on our ham that was on our plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Simply amazing! Super easy and great flavour. My only disappointment was that the leftover ham was a bit too sweet for using in casseroles or for breakfast meat. On the other hand, the leftover ham was so delicious on its own that it didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States