Cherry Ham Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was wonderful. I made it for my in-laws at Christmas and everyone loved it. It will become a regular way to serve ham from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I'm usually not one to make any type of glaze other than the foil packet that comes with my ham, but I made this for Christmas dinner and even my mother in law was impressed! It tastes delicious and the ham stayed so moist. I couldn't find cherry preserves so I used a can of no sugar added cherry pie filling and it was amazing! I used a pre-sliced spiral ham, layered the slices in a large pan and spread the glaze over all. I baked it until heated through and then served. It makes a beautiful presentation with the cherries scattered about and isn't too sweet at all. I will definitely be using this glaze again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this the way Abianne did in the crockpot. It was very easy and tasty for a carryin dinner, however a little runny (because of the crockpot) I would suggest omitting the water and a little less vinegar, maybe a little more cornh syrup, if you are going to make it in the crockpot. I am sure the consistency would be perfect on a baked ham as recipe states. Very good and worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I have never gotten my family to eat a whole ham, but with this glaze they did just that. I made no changes to the recipe, it was delicious as it is written. Thanks for submitting this. I will not be making my ham any other way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This glaze is divine! I will NEVER use any jarred or packaged glazes again! This is delicious as is or even with pineapple preserves or changing it up with different kinds so it can be very versatile recipe. Cherry preserves is still my favorite kind to use! This dresses up even the cheapest hams and make them taste so expensive! I've had people ask me for this recipe many many times! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Complex<3Creation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I think this is my new favorite way to glaze a ham! I baked the ham in a roasting bag (which keeps the ham SUPER moist) with 1 cup each pineapple juice and honey and the seasoning packet from the ham. Then, removed it from the bag and juice to glaze it for the last half hour. I got fancy French cherry preserves and used the ham juices in place of h2o and instead of the individual spices, I just used TJs pumpkin pie spice which has the spices called for in this as well as ginger and cardamom. The flavor of the glaze was out of this world, but I have to say my favorite part is the gorgeous color it provides. Dont skip the corn syrup! Corn syrup we buy in the store is NOT the same as High Fructose Corn Syrup (which is bad) and that's what gives it the nice shine you want from a glaze. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My husband and mother-in-law both said this was the best ham they'd ever tasted. The jar of preserves I bought was 17.5 oz, so I did 1.5 times everything (except the spices--doubled those). For a 14 pound ham, next time I would double the amount of glaze. Used 1 cup to baste the ham during the last hour, then mixed 4 cups of drippings with the remaining glaze and 2 tablespoons of flour. Served as a gravy on the side. They couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Made a ham shank with this glaze and it was FANTASTIC. Everyone raved about it and the leftovers flew out of the fridge. I cooked the ham, cooled it, sliced it, and put it in the crock pot with the remaining glaze (after glazing the ham) to serve hot. Used the drippings from the ham to make soup, so don't know how the glaze would be mixed with the drippings, but would definitely try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My family and I were tired of the same old ham. I found this website with the 'Cherry Ham Glaze" and it was a big hit. I did not add all the ham drippings to the left over sauce because we like the glaze thickened to put on our ham that was on our plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States