Cherry Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Really good recipe - my company loved it! I used tart cherries from my freezer and reserved the liquid to use instead of water. I followed another suggestion here and added a jigger of brandy after the recipe had thickened. I also used more seasoning on the fish, but I doubt that made a difference. I substituted rice vinegar for red wine vinegar only because That's what I had. I put the salmon on a soaked cedar plank and put that on a cookie sheet, because we love the cedar flavoring and it turned out to be the perfect complement to the cherry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My boyfriend loved this recipe! I made a few modifications that worked out very well. 1. I substituted chicken for salmon 2. I marinated the chicken before baking with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper 3. I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine 4. I didn't have butter, so I used a dollop of butter spread. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious and easy to make. Even my toddler liked it which is saying a lot since she typically won’t touch fish. The adults loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Ok, we loved this, but there a few significant alterations. 1. we used steelhead - love living in the Pacific Northwest; 2. Use "Oregon Fruit Products" - Pitted Red Tart Cherries in Water; 3. Used the water from the canned cherries as it was just under 2/3rds of a cup of liquid with an added 2 shots of brandy and a splash of a dry white wine. THIS WAS AMAZING...Will use this repeatedly and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made this last night for friends. It was great! Fresh and summery, we really enjoyed it! A real different taste for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An unusual change for salmon and very very good but not the sort of recipe I would use on a regular basis. Definitely use fresh cherries, if possible, just no way that artificial tasting cherry pie filling is going to suffice. It is indeed unfortunately that some reviewers actually wrote a review after having used the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Used fresh Bing cherries and grilled the salmon- turned out great! The kids weren't sure at first (cherries on salmon, mom??) but they really liked it and so did the adults. Good, different and savory use for cherries. Would be good on chicken or pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I actually would like to rate this 3.5 stars. The cherry glaze had a very subtle taste. I added a little shallot to it and increased the honey but it still didn't pop. I had to use Ahi tuna because the market was out of salmon, but I didn't allow a difference in fish to affect my rating. Not sure how else to make it better, but an improved glaze would be tasty on fish and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
On a cold fall night without fresh cherries I tried this. I wanted to warm it up a bit so I used brandy instead of red wine vinegar and frozen cherries. I avoided the fishy flavor by grilling the fish until it was almost done then I finished it under the broiler with the glaze. My husband who doesn't love to eat fish,loved this. Don't forget to salt and pepper the finish product. Really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
It was okay but I was expecting more. The cherry glaze added only a subtle flavor to the fish which I was a little disappointed in. Might need a few tweaks to improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States