Cherry Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made several modifications with this sauce. I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. The first time I made it with red wine vinegar, it was very vinegary. Balsamic gave it a much more mellow flavor. I also added some caramelized onions to it and my husband loved that addition. This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Really good recipe - my company loved it! I used tart cherries from my freezer and reserved the liquid to use instead of water. I followed another suggestion here and added a jigger of brandy after the recipe had thickened. I also used more seasoning on the fish, but I doubt that made a difference. I substituted rice vinegar for red wine vinegar only because That's what I had. I put the salmon on a soaked cedar plank and put that on a cookie sheet, because we love the cedar flavoring and it turned out to be the perfect complement to the cherry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Ok, we loved this, but there a few significant alterations. 1. we used steelhead - love living in the Pacific Northwest; 2. Use "Oregon Fruit Products" - Pitted Red Tart Cherries in Water; 3. Used the water from the canned cherries as it was just under 2/3rds of a cup of liquid with an added 2 shots of brandy and a splash of a dry white wine. THIS WAS AMAZING...Will use this repeatedly and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It was very sweet, I used lime juice to tame down the sweetness. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
On a cold fall night without fresh cherries I tried this. I wanted to warm it up a bit so I used brandy instead of red wine vinegar and frozen cherries. I avoided the fishy flavor by grilling the fish until it was almost done then I finished it under the broiler with the glaze. My husband who doesn't love to eat fish,loved this. Don't forget to salt and pepper the finish product. Really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An unusual change for salmon and very very good but not the sort of recipe I would use on a regular basis. Definitely use fresh cherries, if possible, just no way that artificial tasting cherry pie filling is going to suffice. It is indeed unfortunately that some reviewers actually wrote a review after having used the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My boyfriend loved this recipe! I made a few modifications that worked out very well. 1. I substituted chicken for salmon 2. I marinated the chicken before baking with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper 3. I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine 4. I didn't have butter, so I used a dollop of butter spread. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Loved the sauce: just used a can of cherry pie filling plus recipe's original directions. Something we'll make again for a change, but didn't like the somewhat fishy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I actually would like to rate this 3.5 stars. The cherry glaze had a very subtle taste. I added a little shallot to it and increased the honey but it still didn't pop. I had to use Ahi tuna because the market was out of salmon, but I didn't allow a difference in fish to affect my rating. Not sure how else to make it better, but an improved glaze would be tasty on fish and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
It was okay but I was expecting more. The cherry glaze added only a subtle flavor to the fish which I was a little disappointed in. Might need a few tweaks to improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States