Cherry Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Used blueberry pie filling and boy is this tasty, next time I will use a little less butter it did not seem to need it thanks for a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I must say this was exceptional. I took another reviewer's advice and am so glad I did. I spread a mixture of 8 oz cream cheese and 1/3 c powdered sugar, whipped together, on each tortilla, then doubled the cherry filliing (2 cans) and doubled the tortilla count to 10. I also added 1 t almond ex. to both the cherries and the syrup. Let sit in fridge for 5 hrs, covered with much more cinnamon/sugar and omitted the almonds. Baked for 40 mins. It was crispy and lovely on the outside and perfect on the inside. Top with real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
WOW!!! These were such a hit with everyone that tryed them. I followed the recipe exactly, but only left them in the fridge for 6 hours, which seemed to be long enough. I made half a dozen of each, Apple, Cherry and Peach. My daughter and friends came back for seconds, and my wife took some to work...they vanished in minutes. Her co-workers are asking for more, so I guess I'm of to the oven, but this time I'm going to put a bit of a twist on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jugobanatboy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
super easy to make and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
3 letters OMG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! fast easy TO DIE FOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammycindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Made these for a friend for his birthday - he likes cherry pie. This was a great recipe to use for 10 people, 6 of them kids! It was way easier than making pie. As past reviews have said they were soggy - mine were not AT ALL! I made them not overnight but 5 hours before baking. That may be the difference. They were crispy/chewy, like a real pie could be, and tasted just like it. I did a couple adjustments, one of which I'm very surprised no one else has tried in their reviews that I think is a MUST! I had doubled this recipe for the crowd and I mixed 8 0z of cream cheese with a little (maybe 1/3 cup) powdered sugar. I then spread this on the tortilla before I put the filling on. THIS WAS DElICIOUS! For the filling, I followed recommendations and added a little almond extract to the cherry pie filling, and I also added one bag of frozen cherries to make them more like real pie, and it was a good add-in. I put a little cinnamon (pumpkin pie mix) in too. I had some whole wheat tortillas that I used in half of the batch and they were great as well. I used fresh whipped cream on top and everyone gave rave reviews. I'm not a HUGE cherry pie fan, but I will make these again and will try with different fillings. The Wilderness/Comstock brand of filling is preferred - more real tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tasted like really soggy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed these, hubby didn't try them since I used the cherry filling, but I bet he would like them with apple. I used an 8x8 pan, and it worked fine, although the bottoms of the enchiladas were soggy. I'll make these again though, and experiment with other pie fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe and was shocked at how easy it was. I followed the directions closely and was sure to cover the tops of the enchiladas with the water/sugar mixture, and I refrigerated for two days, but they came out soggy and chewy. The tops were fine, but the bottoms, which sat in water for two days, did not cook well. I will not make these again, but gave it three stars because it was very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My family likes this so much better than cherry pie!!! And it is easy too! I use fresh pie cherries that I have cooked with some sugar and cornstarch to make my own pie filling. I make a large batch and then freeze in containers to be ready to make the enchiladas all year long. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States