Cherry Dump Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was simple to make and delicious! My husband loved that it wasn't overly sweet (though I thought that it was really sweet!) I love baking that only requires one bowl for all the ingredients. I didn't have fresh cherries on hand so I used a jar of pitted sour cherries (680grams net weight/350grams drained weight) -- this met the recipe requirements perfectly and I used the liquid from the jar as the cherry juice. I will make this again, next time I will only add 3/4 the required amount of sugar if using jarred sour cherries. A great way to use up that old jar of sour cherries we had kicking around our cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
This recipe was incredibly easy and delicious. A very satisfying dessert for a busy weeknight dinner! We used a jar of pitted sour cherries, as fresh cherries were not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Quick and easy, my favorite kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I made this last night. It was quick and easy to make, and tasted wonderful. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this with 3 tablespoons butter, 1 1/3 cups sugar, 1 can of sour cherries, and juice from the can topped off with water to 1 cup. I also added a tiny pinch of allspice and cinammon and baked it in a casserole pan. It puffed up in the oven and I served it right away with ice cream, it was SOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
YUM! My cherries were very tart/tangy so it wasn't too sweet. I substituted brown sugar for some (about 1/4 cup) of the sugar and sprinkled a little cinnamon on the cherries before pouring on the juice. By the way, this is not really a 'pudding'. It is more like a yummy cake with a cherry topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this with fresh pitted cherries and made it exactly as the recipe say's except i swapped the cherry juice for water and put self raising flour in as well as the baking powder. It tastes glorious! Using water makes the pudding a golden colour instead of purple like in the picture. I put mine in a 13" x 9" x 2.5"(deep) baking dish. And it only took 35 mins in my oven. The pudding mixture is really tasty in this recipe and you could substitute the cherries for any moist fruit. This pudding doesnt have any sauce and the only moisture once baked was from the fruit (perhaps because my cherries were fresh?). But i wouldnt say it was dry. It was just right! Definatley recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Amazing! Very good with Vanilla Ice Cream or whipped cream. If you don't want a tart cherry dessert, this is for you. It's an easy recipe to make and left overs are just as good as the day of. We used a standard 9"x12" glass baking dish instead of the suggested 10x10, which we didn't have. Make sure you use non-stick spray! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Just in case you're like me & hadn't heard of "dump pudding," it's basically a cobbler. :) Obviously lots of people love this recipe & were able to finesse it to turn out successfully, but I was underwhelmed, especially with how long it took to pit those cherries! I love the flavor of the fresh cherries right on top & that portion of the dish deserves more than 3 stars. However, my cake turned out unevenly baked, & overall it was dry. In order for me to enjoy eating it, it had to be served with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream to add moisture. I think this problem can be repaired by baking longer at a lower oven temp (350?). Also, the cake's flavor isn't decadent, but perhaps that's my fault: I only added about 1 c of juice b/c prior to baking, the pudding looked so full & gooey already, I was afraid of adding too much & it not cooking. More juice would have really helped but I still feel it needs a stronger butter flavor. **One tip: be sure to put your dish on a cookie sheet to keep your oven clean! As far as making this recipe again, I would use the method of the raw cherries alone on top, but with a different cake recipe underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States