Cherry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
People were loving it! Did the crust all on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I tried this a few nights ago. I also added 1/2 tsp of almond extract per someone's recommendation. The cooking time was pretty spot on, except I left mine in for another 3 minutes just to make sure it was crispy. The crust was very crunchy and delish. My husband loved the recipe as well and we had it with vanilla ice cream like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
So simple, so delicious! I do not believe this recipe needed any amendments, but I was trying to find a way to use up my fresh bing cherries and frozen blackberries. I made my own cherry filling using a pie filling recipe also found on allrecipies, substituting Bing cherries and extracted blackberry juice for tart cherries. Also, I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. I substituted 1/2 butter for 1/2 canola oil and added extra cherry filling. I liked the layered look, so I divided about 2/3 of the crunch, and, following another reviewer's recommendation, I pressed it into the bottom of the pan firmly before adding cherry filling. I like coconut, so I mixed in a 1/2 cup for the top layer and crumbled it on. After baking, I glazed a bit of powdered sugar almond extract frosting over the top, mostly for appearance. Although my alterations concluded in very little crunch, the end result was fantastic! Sweet and crumbly soft. I didn't even have to eat it with ice cream. This dessert stands on its own! My husband swore this was one of the best desserts I have ever made. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family loved this. I am not a fan of cherries but my husband is, so I made one Apple and one Cherry. I loved the apple one. I took another reviewers tip and pressed half the crumb mixture into the pan and baked for about 10 minutes before adding the pie filling and sprinkling the remaining crumb mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! Only addition I made was adding some almond flavoring to the cherries. Definitely will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I thought this was a great tasting treat. My wife made it and I had her save the recipe so we could have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
One of my fallback desserts. If you're not thrilled about using prepared pie filling, drain the juice from a can of tart pie cherries and add a tablespoon of tapioca to the juice. Sprinkle the thickened juice over the cherries and then add the top crust. No additional sugar is needed; there's plenty in the crust. Chopped almonds are a nice addition, too. Wonderful warm with vanilla ice cream or yoghurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was very good. I added 2 Tbs. of butter to the 1/2 cup called for in the recipe. I also added 1/2 tsp. almond extract to the cherries. The bottom crust was too soft to be cut into bars. I am refrigerating overnight in hopes of firming them up. Next time, I will bake the bottom crust for 10 minutes before topping with the cherries and topping. I will definitely make these again. I may try the unsweetened canned cherries as these were a little too sweet with the regular canned cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Yummy, I made this along with homemade whipped cream. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States