Cherry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Super easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. Nice crisp crust, not soggy at all. Exactly the taste I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a delicious desert - my family ate all of it in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Had to try this with frozen from fresh cherries. It's a keeper and very versatile. I took all the cumulative advice by doubling the recipe, adding almond extract, incorporating the cold butter by hand and prebaking the bottom crust for 13 minutes. To 5 cups of cherries, I added a scant cup of sugar, almond extract but instead of flour I used 4T victorio instant clearjel in a slurry with a cup of water. Thanks to all who left their baking tips; my cherry crunch turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is so easy & good! I pre-baked the bottom layer for 10 minutes and added 1 tsp. almond extract to the cherry pie filling as recommended by reviewers, then followed the recipe. The top wasn't crunchy when we ate it the next morning, even after warming it on "broil" for 10 minutes. No matter - it was still tasty with coffee & ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
People were loving it! Did the crust all on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I tried this a few nights ago. I also added 1/2 tsp of almond extract per someone's recommendation. The cooking time was pretty spot on, except I left mine in for another 3 minutes just to make sure it was crispy. The crust was very crunchy and delish. My husband loved the recipe as well and we had it with vanilla ice cream like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
So simple, so delicious! I do not believe this recipe needed any amendments, but I was trying to find a way to use up my fresh bing cherries and frozen blackberries. I made my own cherry filling using a pie filling recipe also found on allrecipies, substituting Bing cherries and extracted blackberry juice for tart cherries. Also, I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. I substituted 1/2 butter for 1/2 canola oil and added extra cherry filling. I liked the layered look, so I divided about 2/3 of the crunch, and, following another reviewer's recommendation, I pressed it into the bottom of the pan firmly before adding cherry filling. I like coconut, so I mixed in a 1/2 cup for the top layer and crumbled it on. After baking, I glazed a bit of powdered sugar almond extract frosting over the top, mostly for appearance. Although my alterations concluded in very little crunch, the end result was fantastic! Sweet and crumbly soft. I didn't even have to eat it with ice cream. This dessert stands on its own! My husband swore this was one of the best desserts I have ever made. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family loved this. I am not a fan of cherries but my husband is, so I made one Apple and one Cherry. I loved the apple one. I took another reviewers tip and pressed half the crumb mixture into the pan and baked for about 10 minutes before adding the pie filling and sprinkling the remaining crumb mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! Only addition I made was adding some almond flavoring to the cherries. Definitely will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I thought this was a great tasting treat. My wife made it and I had her save the recipe so we could have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States