Cherry Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I added chopped pecans, shredded coconut, 1 TSP allspice, and 2 extra TBSP butter to the dough. I also used lite cherry filling. These changes gave the crumble terrific flavor. I am going to try apple filling next. Possibly two cans for more fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My mother had just baked a store bought cherry crumble but becuase of the sugar content I couldn't have any. I used no sugar added cherry pie filling and this turned out awesome! The buttery crust was so great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
It was good - but not great. I thought the crumb topping was a bit bland. I am going to look for a different crumble type cherry pie. It was not bad though and If I had the ingredients on hand - I would make it - but I would not go out of my way. Good family dessert - but nothing to swoon over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Very tasty recipe and easy to make, I made it with my son and it took just a few minutes. We added chopped hazlenuts to the dry mix and it added a nice taste. Try it with whipped cream or ice cream. I would like to try this recipe again sampling a different fruit but it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was good, and very easy. I'd add some pecans or some other chopped nut to the crumb mixture to give it a little more crunch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This gets 5 stars for easy to make and 4 stars for flavor. I also used fresh pie (sour) cherries. I had 3 c of those and tossed appx 1/2 c of sugar and 1 T of flour to the cherries before I put them on the crust. The bottom crust worked out great and held together nicely when I dished out the cobbler. I think it could have used more cherries next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This recipe saved some cherries quickly nearing the end of their lifespan from being wasted. Even in my non-cherry-loving household, this was a hit. I also used fresh cherries, about 2 cups, combined with 2/3 c. sugar and about 1 T. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
We have a couple cherry trees on our property and this year they were loaded with big tart cherries. After baking 4 pies and a cobbler this week I was looking for something new. This recipe is fantastic! I substituted the canned cherry pie filling for 2 cups of pitted fresh cherries with 3/4 C. sugar and 1 T. flour stirred in. Then I used a slotted spoon to ladel the cherries over the crumb mixture to avoid getting something too sloppy. It turned out perfect. Fast, and easy enough that my 4 yr. old daughter could even help. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Outstanding dessert! I stirred in a teaspoon of almond flavoring to the cherries and sprinkled a handful of sliced almonds with the crumb mixture before topping the cherries. Thanks Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I didn't think anything could be better than my cherry crisp recipe until I tried this one. It adds more of the delicious topping to the bottom. What a wonderful idea. We really enjoyed it warm with ice cream or milk. I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States