Cherry Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I have made this 4 times with fresh cherries, with different modifications along the way. The original was excellent, but I found it to be too sweet, and prefer my version! I kept cutting the sugar until the last time I made it, for a family dinner; it received raves and I think I've reached perfection! For the flour and oats, I use 3/4 cups whole wheat flour and 7/8 cups rolled oats. I replaced the brown sugar with 4 tbsp succanat (dehydrated sugar cane with molasses remaining). I left the salt as is, but added 1 tbsp cinnamon to the dough and 1 tbsp cinnamon to the pitted fresh cherries. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, except for one thing: I used fresh pitted cherries and not the canned stuff. I think this made the filling VERY DRY! I tried to fix it up as another reviewer mentioned (adding flour and lemon juice) but it did not work. I have no idea what I should have done to make the filling more soft and moist (like the canned stuff) but i was sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I needed a way to use up all the sour cherries on my tree, and gave this a try, making my usual homemade pie filling. My guests thought it was good. I found it just a little bland. I may try it again and add some sliced almonds to the topping. I did bake the crust a bit before adding the remaining ingredients to keep the bottom from becoming soggy. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
So simple, fast and delicious. Vanilla icecream a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Wonderful - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Love how simple and scrumptious this is! Will definitely keep this recipe around for a future occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
YUM!!!!! This was a big hit!!! My husband has been dropping hints for a long time that he really wants me to make some crumbly cherry goodness and this recipe was perfect! :) He love love loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I've made a few different crumble recipes off of this site, but this is the best. The bottom layer was a nice touch. Cutting butter can be a pain, which is why I liked this method. I made an apple crumble because I had some to get rid of but will definitely try a cherry one next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a nice quick dessert and a great way to use the cherry pie filling I've had sitting in my pantry for too long. Most of my family does not usually like cherries, but they actually enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious, easy, definately don't skip the vanilla ice cream. I bake alot, but this one is not forgotten:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States