Cherry Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This recipe saved some cherries quickly nearing the end of their lifespan from being wasted. Even in my non-cherry-loving household, this was a hit. I also used fresh cherries, about 2 cups, combined with 2/3 c. sugar and about 1 T. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
We have a couple cherry trees on our property and this year they were loaded with big tart cherries. After baking 4 pies and a cobbler this week I was looking for something new. This recipe is fantastic! I substituted the canned cherry pie filling for 2 cups of pitted fresh cherries with 3/4 C. sugar and 1 T. flour stirred in. Then I used a slotted spoon to ladel the cherries over the crumb mixture to avoid getting something too sloppy. It turned out perfect. Fast, and easy enough that my 4 yr. old daughter could even help. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was too floury for me. I like a sweet crumble and decided it would be great if you halved the flour and used more butter and/or sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I just tried this with great results. I made the following alterations: I used a refrigerated pie crust for the bottom crust in a 9inch pie plate. I used two cans of cherry filling (one lite and one no sugar). For the crumble, I used whole wheat pastry flour and put all of it on top of the cherries. Baked for about the recommended amount of time. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Would you believe I made this recipe with fresh peaches?!? It turned out great! Sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on the peaches first. Homemade dessert, VERY fast! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADIOGURL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Outstanding dessert! I stirred in a teaspoon of almond flavoring to the cherries and sprinkled a handful of sliced almonds with the crumb mixture before topping the cherries. Thanks Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I didn't think anything could be better than my cherry crisp recipe until I tried this one. It adds more of the delicious topping to the bottom. What a wonderful idea. We really enjoyed it warm with ice cream or milk. I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was good, and very easy. I'd add some pecans or some other chopped nut to the crumb mixture to give it a little more crunch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was very good! The only thing I did different was add a little bit more brown sugar so it wouldn't be too doughy. Turned out really good, my family loved it!!! We had it with some vanilla icecream so it was just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
It was good - but not great. I thought the crumb topping was a bit bland. I am going to look for a different crumble type cherry pie. It was not bad though and If I had the ingredients on hand - I would make it - but I would not go out of my way. Good family dessert - but nothing to swoon over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States