Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this for a potluck type cookout and everyone seemed to love it. Before it was dessert time it was half gone...nothing was left at the end. I liked it but thought it was a bit too sweet and yes, for the amount I used (oh and I used fresh strawberries and fresh cherries) I definitely think the crisp part needs to be doubled. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Four stars for ease of preparation but far too sweet for us. The only change I made was butter in place of margarine. Serving it with vanilla ice cream does help tone down the sweetness. Probably won't make it again but may use the topping for an apple crisp. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
We make this with all sorts of fruits but the topping is the best and it's so easy even my husband can make it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
If you love cherry anything, you'll love this. Although its such a simple recipe, it never gets old, and its so good! Sweet and tarte with the nutty topping.. spoon some of this stuff piping hot over french vanilla ice cream- its absolutely heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This dessert is great, but a little too sweet. I added crushed pineapple (1/2 small can) and now it's fabulous! Add whipped cream or vanilla ice cream to make it spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I used a quarter more ingredients for the topping (1/2 cup flour became 3/4, etc.) and next time I'll use another 21 oz can of cherry filling, as one can isn't enough. I also skipped the nutmeg, as that wasn't a favorite in my house. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is OutStanding!!!!! I made with 2 canned apple pie fillings, (it was what I had on hand) and this is remarkably delicious! Will try every fruit pie filling there is with this! DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was very good, though I thought the nutmeg flavor was a tad too strong....I'd use maybe 1/2 or 1/3 a tsp. nest time. I made extra granola/flour/sugar mixture and pressed about half of it onto the bottom of the greased pan and then poured on the cherries and finished with the rest of the mixture and the pecans. I took another reviewer's advice and ate it with some vanilla ice cream--I definitely second that recommendation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very simple, yet good enough to serve guests. We enjoyed it with vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This recipe is fast and easy, but the cinnamon and nutmeg add just the right amount of spice to this sometimes bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States